Skip to content

Repair, Not Replace

March 16, 2009


In this economy where so many are tightening their belts and in an effort to pull back on the reins of our rampant consumerism, whenever we have the opportunity to repair a usable item we should do that rather than replace it. In order to have a usable item to repair, you generally need to purchase a quality item in the first place.

We generally buy good quality shoes. The result is that we adults can wear them for many years and the girls can wear them for a season or more and pass them on to the younger sisters. This week I had the opportunity to take two of Juliana’s shoes in for an elastic repair that had been necessary for a while. I also had to have the elastic replaced in one of my Danskos, thanks to a mischievous puppy. Our local shoe repair shop raised their price on this particular repair to $10/shoe, but even at $10 it is still a deal. I give business to a local shop, I get to keep shoes in use that have lots of life left in them and we don’t purchase new shoes with the accompanying price tag, packaging and materials.

Buying second hand is also an option, but I never find what I need, when I need it and my Danskos are only 1 1/2 years old, so they are very serviceable. The navy Mary Jane on the left is probably about 9 years old and is being worn by the third wearer. The purple sandal is about three or four years old and is on it’s second wearer, having been originally been purchased for the second girl, not the first. The leather and soles on both are still in great shape. With a little cleaning and polish, all three will look nearly as good as new!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tonia permalink
    March 17, 2009 2:25 am

    I agree! I have far fewer “things” but what I do have is better quality and lasts much longer. It is worth it to me to save to buy something well made and keep it for years than it is to buy cheaper stuff and have it fall apart. The cheaper stuff often can’t be repaired due to shoddy materials and workmanship. Thanks for your good wishes for Sibella and for tagging me. I am not sure when I will be able to give it my attention. My head is swimming right now with cat concerns but soon as I can I will post my answers.

  2. Evelyn permalink
    March 17, 2009 3:20 pm

    I agree with you totally. I have always thought it was better to buy quality and make it last. If you can’t buy quality, you can still take care of things and make them last for as long as possible. Shoes have to be quality for me now though, otherwise my feet and back pay for it. I love Danskos.

  3. Hunny Bunny permalink
    March 19, 2009 12:51 am

    That’s very cool, I haven’t been to any place that replaces shoes since my dad got his cowboy boots resoled when I was a little girl. It was actually quite amusing seeing that we lived in a city in MA, just couldn’t take the Midwest out of him.
    I’ll have to see where to go locally for that stuff.

Leave a comment