Skip to content

Vegetable Garden, Early August 2010

August 8, 2010

Though I got a late start and things still aren’t where they would typically be at this time of year, it’s amazing what about a month of growth can do!  Compare these two pictures, the first from July 10 and the second from today.

July 10, 2010

Today, August 8, 2010

The plants that have been most surprising to me are the tomatilloes.  I’ve never grown them before and they growing amazing well and so quickly.  They were spindly things when I first put them in the ground and I thought that they might die in the heat spell since they were so skinny and small, but they have surpassed the tomatoes in growth and have dozens of fruit set on them.  The peppers aren’t doing so great; I think it has, overall, been too cool for them.  Tomatoes are finally starting to blossom, but haven’t set fruit yet, so I don’t know that I’ll get much ripening before frost, but I’m going to cross my fingers and then consider row covers as our nights get cooler.  Potatoes are getting close to blossoming and I have fruit on the summer squashes; the cucumbers are growing well and I trellised them today.  I’ve got many volunteer chards around the garden that I just left and they are getting very big.  If we don’t have much of anything else, we will have lots of chard.

I took on a little project yesterday of whipping out some cheap-o compost bins.  We have a source for free 55 gallon plastic drums, so I rinsed out two of those, drilled 3/4″ holes in the body for ventilation and then, because the lid is fixed and not removable (unless you cut it off), I used a jig saw and reciprocating saw to make a flap on the top that can be wired open during filling and emptying and then pushed shut while it is cooking.  Theoretically our method of mixing will be rolling on the side every now and then.  Hopefully that will pan out and work in reality.

I cut halfway around the outside edge of the top of the lid and about 4" in on each side of the center line to create a flap (notice the organic label? only the best for our compost!)

Compost bin with the lid wired open

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jana permalink
    August 8, 2010 7:21 pm

    Lisa, we have tomatilloes also but mostly just papery outings nothing really growing inside. hmmm. Glad your garden is starting to provide. Everything is late this year. Thank goodness for professional growers who offer up their goodies at the market. 🙂

  2. August 8, 2010 7:29 pm

    Your garden is looking great. Isn’t fun when you can harvest from your own yard.

Trackbacks

  1. Who has garden plants to trade? | garden plants

Leave a Reply

