Skip to content

Ripple Baby Afghan #2

June 7, 2010

I’m in love with ripple crochet patterns, particularly this one.  It’s amazing, to me, how a simple ripply stripe of color can pack so much more punch and interest than a straight stripe.  If the decor of our house was entirely in my hands, I would ripple every soft surface.  (Okay, obviously that’s an exaggeration, but I would cover a lot of the soft surfaces.)

I made this baby afghan for a sweet little cousin* that has newly arrived.  I was hoping that I would finish and mail it so that it would arrive before he did.  But in typical tardy fashion, I procrastinated for a few days and darn it if I didn’t miss it by a day or so!  I mailed it on Wednesday and my cousin went into (a very long) labor on Friday morning.  So, hopefully she will open the package before opening my blog.  I think there’s a pretty good chance that will happen since she’s kind of busy and tired right now.  Sweet Sebastian made his appearance on Saturday evening.  I love his name, particularly because it’s the name we chose for our second daughter, had she been a boy.

I always deliberate long and hard over the colors that I choose for a project.  It’s a pretty important part!  Knowing that he would be a boy, I wanted something un-girly but not overtly boyish either, because I know my cousins are not all, “Grr…dress the boy in blue and red lest he become effeminate.”  Their home has some purple in it and though purple seems to have become the new pink in girls’ clothing and decor, I still think it’s unisex.  Anyway, I love how the colors turned out and I hope they like it, too!

The next baby afghan I do will be in loud, bright colors, and I am trying to decide between using the same ripple pattern or trying this granny stripe pattern.  I think Lucy at Attic24 is a crochet genius and I always drool over her colorful pictures.  I also think that crochet is not given the credit it deserves in the craft world.  Knitters and specialty yarn stores  can sometimes appear be arrogant in believing their knitting is superior, but I think there are wonderful things about both crafts.  So, if you are a hooker, don’t be afraid  wield your hook with pride.

*He’s actually my first cousin once removed, but cousin is obvious easier to say.  Though it’s been said I should call him my cousin’s baby.  However, since he’s my children’s second cousin and technically my cousin, too.  We’ll call him cousin.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    June 7, 2010 1:02 pm

    Very nice! You always do things well. Who’s the next baby?

  2. June 7, 2010 2:47 pm

    I really like those colors. And I agree, a straight stripe can’t compare to a ripple…unless it’s one of Lucy’s creations!

  3. June 12, 2010 9:49 am

    Lisa,

    Thanks for your comment on the blog! I would love to have you do something with the picture! I have another friend who is helping me, but I thought I could give you another one and then I can get two different headers. 🙂 I don’t have your email address.. can you go leave a comment on our blog again with it? I have comment moderation, so I won’t publish your address. 🙂
    Thanks!!!

    Love,
    Sarah

  4. June 12, 2010 9:50 am

    Oh yeah, Love the blanket!! I bet I know who it is for! lol! He is SO cute, isn’t he?? He will relaly like that blanket, I bet. And the colors are really nice too! Becca is making almost the exact same thing, only she doesn’t have green. :)lol

    Love,
    Sarah

  5. June 14, 2010 7:02 pm

    It’s a great color combination! I like purple for boys too.

Leave a Reply

