Skip to content

Learning & Birthday Crafting

May 7, 2010

My girls are interested in learning practical skills, so I’m happy to be able to pass what I know onto them.

My oldest made an apron for my youngest last month and this weekend I used the same pattern to sew a birthday gift for a sweet four-year old that we are blessed to know.  The best gift that we made, was a doll that my seven-year old primarily worked on, with my assistance.  It required embroidery and hand and machine sewing, all of which are new to her, with the exception of a small amount of hand sewing that she’s tried before.  So, with my instruction, examples and starting her off, she took off and created a small, softie doll.  She was actually inspired last month by a gift for my  youngest, from the current birthday girl’s family.  She also made a tiny pillow for the doll to lie on.

I made the doll pattern for her and it’s loosely based on matryoshka dolls that I saw on Etsy.  I think it came out great and my daughter was so happy with her accomplishments.

Child's apron, matryoshka doll and tiny pillow


3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2010 7:48 pm

    OMG, that could not be cuter. Aprons are totally underrated and your girl handmaking a gift is just pure awesome.

  2. Mom permalink
    May 10, 2010 9:01 pm

    The apron and the doll are great!

Leave a Reply

