Skip to content

Child’s Apron

April 12, 2010

Child's Apron

My oldest daughter, who is 13, started and finished her first real project on a sewing machine this weeken.  It was a birthday gift for my youngest, who just turned five.  The apron turned out wonderfully.  The great thing about this pattern is that it has an elasticized neck strap which makes it so easy for little ones to get off and on easily and the waist strap secures with velcro, rather than ties, also making it easy for little hands.  The whole apron uses around 1/2 yard of fabric, and if you used different fabric for the back of the apron, it would be a great way to use up small pieces that are just not large enough for other projects.  I let my daughter go through my stash of fabric and she choose this fabric that was given to me several years ago, which I hadn’t quite decided what to do with yet.  My youngest’s favorite colors are yellow and red, so it was a pretty easy decision.

This took several hours for my daughter to finish, with a lot of help from me, but for an experienced sewer, it would be a very quick project.

You can find the free pattern here.  The original pattern didn’t have a pocket, but it was very easy to add on and I think that pockets are essential for aprons.  The pattern says that it is for ages 3-6.  My daughter is a very, very petite five and it looks like she will be able to wear it for at least a couple more years.  If I were to do this for a smaller child, I would shorten the neck and waist straps by a few inches.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    April 12, 2010 2:58 pm

    Bravo! She did a great job!

  2. April 13, 2010 7:28 am

    Congratulations to Maddy! It looks like she did a great job! I forgot about this… or I would’ve told her that myself, yesterday, and would’ve asked to see it!! Next time. 🙂
    Way to go, Maddy!! Funny, Quinn wants to make a bag… hopefully, we’ll get it started today. 🙂

    Teri

Leave a Reply

