Skip to content

Our Daily Bread

January 31, 2010

My weekly bread baking has come to an end.  It was all going well.  I was baking regularly and we always had some on hand.  The problems started a little after Christmas.  My husband began experiencing terrible pain and cramping in his abdomen.  This lasted for several intense days and then began to taper off as he wasn’t eating much at all.  After a lot of research into causes of abdominal pain and the accompanying worry, I finally had an epiphany.  This could be caused by the unsprouted wheat bread.  Perhaps we had eaten sprouted bread for so long that my husband was experiencing problems from the home-baked bread, which used unsprouted flours.  Since unsprouted flour didn’t appear to bother him before we switched several years ago, I didn’t even occur to me that he could experience bad side-effects.  When I brought this up, he decided to cut out all flour for a couple of weeks to allow his gut to settle.  The problems disappeared, but started flaring up if he had any flour during that time.  The girls and I were also experiencing some issues that we didn’t have while we were eating sprouted bread.  So, we have switched back to sprouted bread.

I am back to purchasing bread.  I can sprout wheat, but I don’t have a grain mill to grind it.  So, until we are able to buy one, I’m not going to be baking bread regularly.  We had been eating sprouted bread for our “daily” bread with splurges of regular flour bread and baked goods on occasion.  This didn’t bother any of us, so that’s what we will go back to doing.

We could explore the possibility of going gluten-free or wheat-free, but the truth is that I like wheat and it’s not affecting any of us to an extreme degree that I feel ready to take those steps.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine Anderson permalink
    February 1, 2010 9:59 am

    I’ve been researching a lot about sprouted grain breads. There is a good description of it in Peter Reinhart’s Whole Grain Breads book. Essentially, you sprout the grains and then send them for a spin in the food processor, no grain mill needed. I could lend, copy, paraphrase for you if you are interested.

    You could be back to making your own breads if you want to. Perhaps we could get together to experiment?

    • February 1, 2010 10:30 am

      Hmm. Yes, I’d like if you could copy that and maybe we could get together to experiment.

      So, do you dehydrate them and then put them in the food processor or do it while they are still moist and then dehydrate the mash?

      A problem that I have is that my food processor is on the smaller side and the blade is not particularly sharp anymore. I really just need to upgrade that appliance.

      Very interesting. Thanks for bringing that to my attention!

Leave a Reply

