Skip to content

Sunday Library Series

January 22, 2010

Lavender and bees

This information will primarily be of interest to locals.

When I was in the library yesterday I noticed a poster for the Explore Oregon program series which is sponsored by the Friends of the Library.  I normally see these posters, give it a quick skim and continue on with my business, but this poster caught my eye because there are a few programs which are of particular interest to me, and probably other urban homesteader types.

  • Jan. 24 –  Bookmaking; a hands-on class designed by Marilyn Worrix and presented by Jo Hockenhull
  • Jan. 31 – Backyard beekeeping; a presentation on the basics of beekeeping with honey tasting by Jim Marshall of C & J Apiary in Dayton, Oregon
  • Feb. 7 – Making soft cheeses and mead at home; a presentation by our very own milk farmer Chrissie of Kookoolan Farms.  This demonstration will show how to make Coeur a la Crème (heart-shaped soft cheese) with a cheese and mead tasting.
  • Feb. 14 – Wine and candy pairings; A Valentine’s Day class on wine and chocolate; first three Yamhill county wines will be paired with four to six different chocolates, then two or three different dishes using chocolate will be paired with an appropriate wine.
  • Feb. 21 – Growing herbs in your garden; Kate Parker of Katula Herbs will cover how to grow herbs from seed, cutting or division, how to preserve them, their culinary and medicinal uses, which ones make great tasting teas and how to utilize them in companion planting as well as herbs should be found in everyone’s garden.

These classes/demonstrations are on Sundays at 2:00 pm at no cost.  The full schedule and description can be found here.

While all the classes look interesting, the three that I would like to attend are:  backyard beekeeping, soft cheese and mead at home and growing herbs in your garden.  I don’t have any personal experience with the beekeeping presenters, but I do have experience with Chrissie of Kookoolan Farms and Kate Parker of Katula Herbs.  Chrissie has been our milk farmer for more than three years and has become, along with her husband Koorosh, good personal friends of ours.  Kate Parker has had a booth at our local farmers market for several years and I’ve purchased herb plants from her in the past.  She sells beautiful, healthy, common and hard-to-find herbs at very reasonable prices.  The comfrey plant I purchased from her several years ago is strong, healthy and very large.

In the past the Friends of the Library has sponsored other practical and interesting classes, that I didn’t get around to attended, like Winter Gardening by our CSA farmers, Katie and Casey of Oakhill Organics and food preservation.

I’m so glad that the Friends of the Library have chosen to sponsor such useful and relevant classes and I hope that they are well-attended to encourage more classes of similar content.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 4:09 pm

    Wow, thanks for this! Now, I just hope I can remember!!!

    • January 22, 2010 5:26 pm

      I’ve got it on my calendar. I hope that will help me remember!

  2. January 23, 2010 6:09 pm

    oh this is fantastic. i wish our library had something similiar. i’m going to have to go looking more i think. i hope you are going to take advantage!

  3. Mom permalink
    January 24, 2010 7:08 am

    Those sounds like classes you would really find intersting. I think this will be great for you too!

  4. January 28, 2010 2:50 pm

    wish I lived closer…..beekeeping and herbs sounds very interesting. Maybe you will get some tips you can blog about for those that can’t attend?

Leave a Reply

