Skip to content

Good riddance, 2009! Welcome, new decade!

December 31, 2009

2009 has been an extraordinarily hard year for many.  It may be the hardest year I’ve experienced in my adult life.  As I’ve mentioned personally, we’ve had financial hardships, we lost our sweet 10 1/2 year old dog, lost personal friendships, change in dynamics of other relationships, loss of a loved uncle and more.  Friends around us are also experiencing financial troubles, an alarming number of friends and acquaintances are divorcing or have divorced and there’s just a general pall of worry and trepidation.

Not that there haven’t been bright spots this year for some.  We’ve seen the birth of several new babies this year and pregnancies of 2010 babies and some of our friends’ businesses really experiencing success, but I feel that those have been the exceptions.

So, I’m more than ready for 2009 to make its exit.

Despite all the difficulties we’ve been through this year, I do realize that we don’t have it as bad as others.  That thought doesn’t give me comfort, because I know that there are a lot of people in desperate circumstances right now.  However, it does give me perspective.  We still have our home; we have vehicles which make our pursuit of an income much easier; we have food and warmth.  We have all the creature comforts covered, though sometimes they are barely covered.  We are generally healthy.  Our friends and family have been so generous to us this year.  And most of all we have each other.  Struggling throughout the year has distilled what is truly important in the grand scheme of things:  hope and much love.

Jobs come and go, currency fluctuates and houses lose value, but at the end of the day, I can’t live without love and hope.  I also can’t get these things at a food pantry or a government assistance program.  So, they are truly valuable and necessary and what really matters at the end of the day.  I don’t know what the coming months will bring.  They may bring more struggle and they may bring more prosperity, but my husband, children and friends will be there supporting me and lifting me up and that’s invaluable.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    December 31, 2009 5:43 pm

    Wonderful post Lisa! I am glad to see this year go also. I am looking forward to a much better year in 2010. I feel that 2010 is another new beginning for me personally. Some more lose ends are being tied up in the next couple of days to be able to put a certain part of my life in the past and ready to continue on with my life. I have learned alot about myself this past year and I am so grateful for all the support I have had from family and friends. I hope 2010 will be a better year for everyone.

  2. January 5, 2010 1:06 pm

    I hear you – I’m glad to see the backside of 2009 – for very similar reasons. When my husband asked me what I wanted for Christmas, I thought about it long and hard. I came to the conclusion that I wanted something money just couldn’t buy: peace of mind. I’m hoping that in 2010 I’ve got reasons to be more optimistic.

    Love your blog and look forward to reading more in 2010. Cheers ~ Conny

    • January 5, 2010 3:54 pm

      I hope you have a better 2010, too Conny. Thanks for continuing to visit!

  3. January 23, 2010 6:20 pm

    so well said Lisa. missed you, sorry to have been so absent. i really do love coming here.

Leave a Reply

