Skip to content

Maple Marshmallows

December 29, 2009

Maple Marshmallows and Hot Cocoa

This weekend, I finally made marshmallows.  I’ve been wanting to make them since we were snowed in last December and at that time I couldn’t locate gelatin at the only store that we could walk to.  My friend Angela gave me some packets of gelatin after the thaw and I still hadn’t gotten around to making them.

Making marshmallows sounds daunting, because how many people make them at home, right?  In reality, it’s so easy!  If you have a candy thermometer, a stand mixer and basic cooking skills, then you have what it takes.

I used Alton Brown’s marshmallow recipe and made some alterations.  Instead of corn syrup, I used maple syrup; I used sea salt rather than kosher and I left out the vanilla.  I also placed the marshmallows in two loaf pans instead of a 9″ x 13″ pan to set.  You need to have cornstarch and powdered sugar for lining the pan and to roll them in afterward, because they are so sticky.  I rolled about 1/3 of them in cocoa powder after I cut them for contrast.

Homemade marshmallows are actually quite good and I’m not even a marshmallow fan.  They are not as sweet as store-bought marshmallows.  They are much denser and with the maple syrup, the flavor is much more complex.  They would be great to give as gifts, especially if you did something fancier like dip them in dark chocolate and rolled them in nuts or coconut.  Even without any special treatment, they were wonderful on hot cocoa!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. kimberly (mac) permalink
    December 29, 2009 4:17 pm

    awesome! they look tasty 🙂

  2. December 29, 2009 6:36 pm

    goodness, it’s been a while since i’ve been over (can you say Christmas) and you certainly have been busy. i never knew you had so many hidden talents!!!!

    hoping 2010 is an easier year for you.

  3. December 29, 2009 6:47 pm

    Thanks, Jen. I hope it’s easier too! I always read your posts on my reader, I just haven’t been by to comment. I hope you have an amazing 2010!

Leave a Reply

