Skip to content

Hot Water Bottle Cozy

December 28, 2009

If your feet are warm, chances are your body will feel warmer.  If your body feels warmer, then you don’t have to heat your house to as high a temperature as you might otherwise feel the need to do.  So, it stands to reason that hot water bottles for your feet (or hands) may be an excellent way to cut heating costs and fuel consumption.

My oldest daughter, M. is always cold.  She frequently wears a scarf or sometimes a jacket in the house.  For Christmas I purchased a hot water bottle for her very own.  A hot water bottle  by itself isn’t such a great gift, though it is practical, so I perused Etsy for a hot water bottle cover and discovered many that I didn’t like and some that I did, but couldn’t afford.  Since I had my crochet hooks out anyway, I thought that I should just whip out a hot water bottle cozy.  Clearly I needed some sort of rectangular cozy, but what about the neck?  Would I used a rectangle and then cinch the neck with a crocheted chain or ribbon?  Would I create tabs that buttoned over each shoulder?  A velcroed flap?  I ultimately decided on making a rectangular cozy that went up and slightly past the shoulders of the bottle and then attached two small chains on each side of the shoulder, which tie together to keep it closed.  Kind of like spaghetti straps on a dress.  I thought that making the cozy taller and cinching the neck would have been effective, too, but I was running out of yarn and I don’t think I would have had enough to execute that plan.  The water bottle cozy went over very well and M. is using it multiple times throughout the day and night.  Pretty much whenever she’s stationary, she’s got it with her.

Hot water bottle cozy

Hot water bottle cozy top ties

Here’s how I made the cozy, which fits a standard two-quart hot water bottle.  I used almost one average sized skein of yarn.

Chain 35. (This will be the height of your cozy.  If you want it to go a lot further past the shoulders or even up over the neck, you will need to chain more.)

Yarn over and insert your hook through the second chain away from your hook and make a half-double crochet stitch.  Continue on and stitch a half-double crochet stitch into each chain.  When you get to the end, chain two, then turn and yarn over and insert your hook into the first stitch away from the hook (not the first chain, the first stitch).

Continue stitching half-double crochet stitches into each stitch across and turning until your piece is long enough to wrap around your hot water bottle.  I didn’t count the rows, but I’m going to guess that it was close to 100.  I could be wrong, though.  Just keep checking with your bottle.

When you have enough rows to go around your bottle, finish off.   If you want to embroider any decorative things on, now is the best time.  I embroidered three small snowflakes in a contrasting color.

Next you will be stitching one long side and one short side to create a bag.  I just used a slip stitch method.  I found it easiest to start at the top corner of the long side (where it meets the top edge) and continue all the way around down to the short edge and joining in one length.  When you have joined both sides, finish off and weave your ends in, then turn right side out, so the seam is on the inside.

On the top edge on either side of the neck of the bottle, on each side of the cozy, you will make a chain which will serve as ties to keep it shut.  About an inch away from the neck on one side, join your yarn to the top edge by slip stitch.  Chain 10 (or more if you prefer a longer tie).  Finish off.  Repeat on the opposite side of the cozy, so it lines up with the chain you just did.  This is the chain the you will tie together with the first.  Repeat these steps on the other side of the neck to create a second set of ties.

Voila!  You’ve got a crocheted hot water bottle cozy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

