Skip to content

Handcrafted Christmas

December 28, 2009

I always make gifts for the girls for Christmas.  Last year it was new Christmas stockings, the year before it was embroidered pillowcases and previous years included quilts and topsy-turvy dolls.  It is now a tradition and the girls expect that they will receive a gift made by Mama.  When the girls were younger, it was easier to make one type of gift for all three girls, but as M. has developed more mature tastes and the little ones are still interested in little things, interests have diverged and separate gifts have now generally become necessary.  When you’ve made many gifts it can also be hard to think of something that is within your skill level, that you haven’t already made for them and that they also need.  I made hats for M. many years ago, but realized that I. and J. didn’t have hats that were made just for them in their favorite colors and decided that would be the gift for them.

Chullos!

Chullos!

When my friend April was in the market for a felted chullo, it made me think what a great idea it would be to crochet chullos for I. and J.  Even though I hadn’t crocheted anything for several years, it still seemed like a good idea.  It ended up working out fine after I brushed up on my crochet skills.  I got them finished the week before Christmas.  I.’s is in red and black because red is her favorite color and she particularly likes it combined with black because apparently those are Phantom of the Opera colors.  J.’s is in yellow and lavender because yellow is her favorite and she has a pair of lavender mittens, so they now look kind of like a set.  I used this pattern, with some modifications for smaller sizing.

M. has been telling me that she would like her own apron for a while.  Everyone else has nice ones that we’ve gotten for gifts and ones that M. has previously gotten are too small for her now.  Lacking the funds to spend a lot on purchasing a pattern, I found what seemed like a nice apron tutorial.  I would not recommend this tutorial for a beginner.  Changing the measurements from metric was easy.  Figuring out how things were placed and how they should be sewn was not so easy.  It all worked out in the end, but I had to rip out a few seams.  I don’t really fault the tutorial creator.  It’s always difficult to figure out what is the best and most informational way to photograph a step and then write it up, especially when you are doing it as you go along.

Apron

Apron!

Apron skirt

Apron skirt

M.’s current favorite colors are orange and blue and she doesn’t like things too girly, so a bird pattern with a small polka-dot contrast fabric was just perfect.

I was able to make these gifts on a very small budget, which was another plus and each girl was very surprised because I managed to stealthily make everything, although I think M. might have seen the tutorial tab that I accidentally left open on the computer and was feigning complete surprise.  I made one other gift that I will cover in a separate post, because it is not only a gift, but a practical and (possible) energy-saving item.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kimberly (mac) permalink
    December 28, 2009 3:52 pm

    awesome are you! 🙂

    I crochet but I do it from my head.. not sure how to follow a pattern as I don’t know the lingo..

    be well~

  2. December 28, 2009 4:10 pm

    Most patterns are very easy to read. You just have to learn the abbreviations and it’s not too bad after that. sc=single crochet, dc=double crochet, dec=decrease, etc. For less common stitches, patterns usually make a note of what abbreviation they are using so it’s explanatory. They might look intimidating because they can be long or with many steps, but each individual step isn’t typically too confusing.

Leave a Reply

