Skip to content

Soap!

December 18, 2009

I hadn’t made any soap for a while, because I wasn’t getting any orders and we can only go through so much soap for our personal use.  Then I started getting all kinds of orders and before I knew it…my whole soap inventory was completely depleted.  I currently have a batch of shampoo bars curing and three batches of all-purpose (body/skin) soap curing.  I need to make three or four times that amount, but I ran out of oils and I  haven’t gotten my list together to reorder because I’ve been trying to finish Christmas crafting.

Soap-making is not a technically challenging skill.  It does require measuring and safety precautions, but if you can cook a dish from a recipe, with the proper equipment you can make soap, too.  Many people are put off by using lye, which can be dangerous if not used correctly.  This is a fear that I overcame and it’s not as bad as you think.  The soap-making technique that I use is cold-process.  This means that the saponification (when the lye and oils chemically react to make soap) process takes place in a room temperature environment, not in a heated environment like a stove or slow-cooker.  It takes a lot longer than hot-process, but it is the preferred method, as far as I can tell, for soap-making.  Impatient people can also make soap using the hot-process, but I’ve got no experience with that.  Fresh cold-process soap needs to cure for at least two weeks to finish the saponification process and harden.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    December 19, 2009 7:09 am

    You soaps are the best. I don’t ever want to use anything else. I am so glad you are getting so many orders.

  2. Jana permalink
    December 19, 2009 8:50 am

    Well you already know what I am going to say.

  3. December 28, 2009 8:24 pm

    I am thinking of doing this next christmas. I think of you often when I drive down your street to and from some hwere in town.

  4. December 28, 2009 8:29 pm

    Yolanda! It’s been awhile since you’ve commented. It’s so nice of you to think of me. If you decide to make soap, I’d be happy to offer any advice you might need from technique to oil suppliers!

Trackbacks

  1. Laurel’s Soap Making Blog » Blog Archive » Soap! « Tardy Homemaker

Leave a Reply

