Skip to content

Gratitude

November 26, 2009

This year has been very hard in many ways.  Primarily it has been financially hard and stressful, but there were other difficult things:  losing a loved one, strained relationships, ill friends, and a lost friendship.  Despite all this, I have many things for which I am thankful and it does me good to focus on those frequently, because they give me hope and without hope, what makes it all worthwhile?

my husband♦my daughters♦we are all healthy♦a home we love (that is not in foreclosure!)♦wonderful and supportive friends♦plenty to eat♦local vegetables♦extended family♦a new cousin♦friends having new babies♦faith♦a lovely community♦books♦handmade soap♦down comforters♦a full pantry♦perserverance♦fresh coffee♦heat♦games♦love

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    November 26, 2009 4:48 pm

    Wonderful post Lisa!

  2. Jana permalink
    November 26, 2009 6:31 pm

    Yeah well heat is important.

  3. December 1, 2009 5:36 pm

    Love the chestnuts picture. Yeah, it’s been a crazy year. Your post gives me an idea. I was thinking about what to put on the family Christmas card this year, and I don’t want to whine about finances and the economy, which have been weighing heavily on my mind: instead I could list all the things we’re grateful for this year. It’s difficult to write a cheery Christmas letter when you’re feeling so unsure.

    Thanks for posting what was good.

  4. December 3, 2009 10:39 am

    Conny-Thank you for visiting! I’m glad I could inspire you. We definitely should take comfort in the good things even when so many things are bleak.

Leave a Reply

