Skip to content

Reusable Cloth Baby Wipes, Take 2

November 18, 2009

So many babies have come or are coming soon.  I just love it!  It makes me happy because I must sadly admit that my baby-making days are likely over.  The last set of baby wipes I did turned out really well.  However, there was much hair pulling involved.  My sewing machine and I had issues.  Was it the needle?  The machine?  Me?  I don’t know, but I do know that I had to rip out and re-sew many stitches due to the thread bunching underneath.  You would think it is a tension issue, but it wasn’t.  I put a new(ish?) needle in and that solved the problem for a while.  I vacuumed all the flannel lint out of the bobbin case and that helped for a while.  I left my machine to rest and that helped for a while, but I didn’t get to give a few of the wipes because they were in bad shape and I couldn’t face ripping anymore seams out.

With that experience etched on my mind and a new baby coming soon, I decided to whip out my serger, which I rarely use.  Serger are intimidating to me because they have all those spools of thread and are such a pain to thread.  I really haven’t even touched the tip of the potential of my machine, but it sure does make edges a breeze.

 

Serged-edge baby wipes

 

Perhaps not as esthetically pleasing, to some, as wipes that are top-stitched, but they are still very functional, attractive and easy, so they are more likely to be completed!  Besides, some people really like a serged edge.  It’s all personal taste.

So, whip out your serger, become re-acquainted, take it for a quick spin.  And if you don’t have a serger, you can borrow mine so it doesn’t get too dusty.*

*Seriously, if any of my friends are reading this and you don’t have a serger but need one for a project or just want to try one out.  You are welcome to borrow mine.  It should get more use than it does!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    November 19, 2009 7:28 am

    These are cute! You are so talented.

  2. Katie permalink
    July 12, 2011 3:27 pm

    hi lisa! i’m about to make some wipes for a friend’s baby and remembered that you posted about this. i have no idea where to start with my machine so i was somewhat disappointed to find you used a serger (which i don’t have). oh well! i will learn SOMETHING about sewing EVENTUALLY! in the meantime, it was really fun to see these now VERY familiar wipes in their newly made state. they have gotten much use and much love over the last 19 months!!!!!! i’m pretty sure i failed at sending a proper thank you back in my new mama state, so THANK YOU now!!!!!!!!! (i also had to laugh when you commented about how your baby days were behind you ….. last words!)

Leave a Reply

