Skip to content

Crafty Gift: Notebook & Pencil Holder

October 19, 2009
tags: ,
Pencil & Notebook Holder

Pencil & Notebook Holder

Homemade gifts, with some skill and care, can be thoughtful and economical gifts to give.  I know that when I am making a gift for someone, not only do I put thought into the materials that I choose and personalize it for the recipient, but I also think about the recipient much of the time that I am making it.  I think that some of this care and affection stays with the gift, as silly as that may sound.  If you are on a tight budget, as many of us are right now, making a gift can allow you to give a nicer gift than you may be able to purchase.

Inside of notebook & pencil holder

Inside of notebook & pencil holder

This particular gift was for a 6 year old boy.  I. choose the outer fabric for him and then I helped her find a coordinating inside fabric.  We just stumbled upon the inside fabric, and I should have taken a better picture, but the inside fabric has a kind of written story on it with words like “space cadet” and “rocket” highlighted, which went nicely with the aircraft theme.  The green was a nice coordinating color, too.  We found it when we had just about given up on finding an inside fabric and were going to go to another store, when we decided to look in one last fat quarters basket one more time.

The great thing about this pattern is that you can use fat quarters for the front and inside and I used a piece of old jeans for the pocket, but you could use many types of leftover fabric, even the same one that you used on the front, because there is enough leftover from the front cover fat quarter that you could use it for the pocket.  The difficulty with this pattern is that it is written using centimeters, so I had to convert it to inches and it doesn’t always come out to a round or even 1/8″ measure, so there was some fudging and guessing here and there and it was lucky that all the slim pockets ended up fitting pencils!  Some were  a tight squeeze!  It was a quick project to do.  If I hadn’t had interruptions and other responsibilities, and I had a dedicated sewing area (not the dining room table) I could have probably whipped it out in 1 1/4 – 1 1/2 hours.

Here’s the pattern.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Adriana permalink
    October 19, 2009 12:29 pm

    Adorable. And so thoughtful.

  2. Mom permalink
    October 19, 2009 7:27 pm

    I love it! I think hand made gifts are the best thing. You always do such a great job at it too.

Leave a Reply

