Skip to content

2009 Pantry/Fridge/Freezer Inventory

October 17, 2009

IMG_2917
IMG_2918

Sadly, my 2009 food preserving season is drawing to an end.  There were things that I never got around to doing.  I dried no herbs this fall.  We still have lots of mint from last year and I could have used some oregano (or is it marjoram?), but my plants were damaged by our puppy so I couldn’t harvest enough to dry.  I didn’t get my hands on any free or cheap pears and apples, so we will have to be content with the few jars of vanilla pears (though they are very tasty, they didn’t fly off the shelf like I had imagined they would) and the few frozen jars of applesauce from last year.  I didn’t get any tomatillo salsa done; our local u-pick farm didn’t have tomatillos this year.

There were other things that I did improve over last year.  I canned more tomato sauce and diced tomatoes, because I was rationing those by late spring.  I made more pickles, this time I made my family’s favorite instead of the canned dill pickles that I made last year.  I finally got around to drying some bell peppers, which turned out well.  I found a salsa that my family really enjoys, so I canned a lot of it.  We dried plums, which we got for free.  I also made some elderberry syrup from berries that a friend gave to me.

In addition to canning and dehydrating, we froze between 25 and 30 pounds of strawberries and blueberries (each), totaling 50 to 60 pounds of frozen berries and 9 pounds of green beans.

Here’s an inventory of what we’ve got in the pantry and refrigerator:

  • 16 quarts garlic refrigerator dills
  • 2 quarts dilly beans
  • 1 quart, 2 pints dried zucchini
  • 1 1/2 pints dried bell pepper
  • 9 pints, 4 half pints strawberry jam
  • 5 pints cherry preserves
  • half pint rose petal jam
  • 6 pints, half pint blueberry jam
  • 3 1/2 half pints plum jam
  • 3 quarts dried cherries
  • 1 1/2 quarts prunes
  • 20 quarts, 5 pints diced tomatoes
  • 2 quarts, 8 pints, 5 half pints cayenne salsa
  • 4 quarts, 8 pints, 2 half pints seasoned tomato sauce
  • 8 pints, 12 half pints plain tomato sauce
  • 3 bottles (maybe 20 oz?), half pint elderberry syrup

I am proud of my efforts this year and hope to add more things next year!

What have some of you been putting up?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

