Skip to content

How Does My Garden Grow?

September 16, 2009

IMG_2819

Very eclectically, to be honest.  You may remember that I wasn’t able to devote financial resources into making any more raised beds or purchasing vegetable starts, however I did some barters and got tomato, peppers, broccoli, and eggplant starts.  Later I found some sad looking organic Roma tomato starts for $.25/plant.  With some volunteer cherry and pear tomatoes and Swiss chards and a rogue kale plant along with some pickling cucumbers, squash and beans that I direct sowed, we are actually getting things out of the mostly neglected garden area.

I’ve been harvesting pickling cucumbers for weeks and have made 8 quarts of garlic dills so far, we get a cup or two of cherry tomatoes every other day and many summer squash, though I haven’t counted so I don’t know exactly how many.  The day before last I harvested our first full sized ripe tomato and yesterday I harvested the first eggplant that I’ve ever grown!  All my previous eggplant growing attempts have been total fails.  Not even a fruit, just the beautiful purple blossoms.  And I still have some more on the plants.  Soon, I will have many ripe full sized tomato including a variety I’ve never tried, Green Zebra and I’ll also have some bell peppers and rattlesnake beans are flowering setting small pods now!  On top of all that, I’ve got many, many green tomatoes on my bargain Roma plants.  They settled in and are doing very well.

Not bad at all for the meager effort that we’ve put in.  I really should get my stuff together on time, because if we can get this out of our garden with minimal effort, we could get great amounts out of a garden that was well-planned and regularly maintained!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 22, 2009 7:31 am

    i should post a photo of what is left of my garden now, it is laughable! looks like you did pretty darn well!

Leave a Reply

