Skip to content

Happy Birthday, I.

August 17, 2009
Carrot Cake

Carrot Cake

I. turned seven last week.  Seven!  Yikes.  I still can’t believe we made it out of the first year.  Carrot cake is her standard birthday cake, because it’s so good.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2009 12:24 pm

    Hey Lisa—what recipe do you use for Carrot Cake? the one I have is not working for me any more….will you share yours?
    thanks

    • August 20, 2009 1:13 pm

      Norma-Here’s the recipe that I use: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Best-Carrot-Cake-Ever/Detail.aspx. The only changes that I make are that I leave out the raisins and use sucanat instead of white sugar.

      • August 20, 2009 4:01 pm

        some Home Ec teacher I am…..but what is sucanat? never seen it or heard of it…is it found at a health food store? a national chain one????? thanks

      • August 20, 2009 4:08 pm

        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sucanat. Sucanat is a non-refined cane sugar. I get it from our bulk natural foods company we order from regularly (Azure Standard, do you order from them? They deliver in CO.) Anyway, it’s just a healthier form of sugar because it retains minerals and we like the richer flavor. I generally buy a 50# bag for right around $50. It is similar to Rapadura, if you’ve heard of it; it’s more widely available than sucanat, I think.

      • August 20, 2009 4:25 pm

        ahh very good… I have an azure standard catalog…will look more closely..thank you for letting me know!!!

      • August 20, 2009 4:43 pm

        Oh, you totally have to start ordering. Our homeschool group created an ordering group, which is much expanded and no longer is only homeschool group members, but we order almost every two weeks and it’s such a great way to save money and still get high quality, natural and organic foods. Their customer service isn’t always the best, but for the price, I’ll deal with it. Let me know if you have any questions. It can be frustrating to figure out how it works at first!

      • August 20, 2009 8:56 pm

        Super! Glad you are my cousin!

  2. August 20, 2009 8:54 pm

    B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L cake!

Leave a Reply

