Skip to content

Tumbleweeds

July 22, 2009

I’ve seen this “where-I’m-from” poem done before, but my friend did a particularly wonderful one and she happens to be from the same part of the country that I am also from, so I was enticed to try my hand at a little creative writing myself.

DSC02016

I am from blue skies, from Allsups and dry, dusty wind.

I am from the series of mobile homes, no longer mobile, deposited onto plots of land-most dusty, one green.

I am from tumbleweeds and watermelon mountains.

I am from board games and dysfunction, from Josie and Evelyn and Kathy.

I am from musical talents and divorce.

From don’t eat with food in your mouth and don’t let the bed bugs bite.

I am from fundamental Christianity and Catholicism and Religious Science.

I’m from The Land of Mañana, biscochitos and Lotaburger (two food items representing your family).

From the woman who’s artistic dreams were dashed by tradition, the man who dulled his pain with so much alcohol, and the girl who was afraid to be herself.

I am from cardboard boxes of photos to be pulled out for a dose of nostalgia, the long hallway of frames displaying our age progression and the slide projector brightly illuminating our shared past.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

If write one, please let me know.  This is such a deceptively simple exercise, but is surprisingly telling.

Here’s the template:

I am from _______ (specific ordinary item), from _______ (product name) and _______.

I am from the _______ (home description… adjective, adjective, sensory detail).

I am from the _______ (plant, flower, natural item), the _______ (plant, flower, natural detail)

I am from _______ (family tradition) and _______ (family trait), from _______ (name of family member) and _______ (another family name) and _______ (family name).

I am from the _______ (description of family tendency) and _______ (another one).

From _______ (something you were told as a child) and _______ (another).

I am from (representation of religion, or lack of it). Further description.

I’m from _______ (place of birth and family ancestry), _______ (two food items representing your family).

From the _______ (specific family story about a specific person and detail), the _______ (another detail, and the _______ (another detail about another family member).

I am from _______ (location of family pictures, mementos, archives and several more lines indicating their worth).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    July 23, 2009 6:12 am

    I read this last night and tried to leave a comment and it kept saying error. I was so touched by this it made me cry.

  2. adriana permalink
    July 27, 2009 8:36 am

    This is beautiful.

  3. July 27, 2009 6:44 pm

    very telling. very personal. filing away for a better time.

  4. August 20, 2009 11:43 am

    I did this too and enjoyed it so much. http://fourlittlebirds.blogsome.com/2009/03/07/where-im-from/ Every one I read is so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

