Skip to content

Kombucha, Take Two

July 6, 2009
tags:

I’ve been brewing kombucha mostly regularly for nearly two years now.  I have had bouts where there was a breakdown in my kombucha production system from time to time, usually in the bottling portion of the process.  I don’t believe that it’s a wonder drink, but I do think that it is a refreshing, healthy drink that at the very least offers probiotics and boosts a healthy immune system.

Blueberry kombucha

Blueberry kombucha

I’m trying to come off of a couple month long stretch of being too lazy to bottle, resulting in two things:  no new kombucha being brewed and three gallons of too-sour kombucha.  The first one is easy to remedy.  Just brew more!  But with our weather being hot and then cool and my scoby* being relatively new, my brew isn’t fizzy.  So, I went online to research secondary fermentation, which just got me excited to experiment with different flavors and ingredients.  I think I’m going to try a honey ginger lemon combo, or maybe just honey ginger.  This should fizz up my kombucha and infuse flavor simultaneously.

The second issue actually ended up being a good thing for me.  Since I had three gallons of kombucha that were too sour to drink, I just let them keep going and ended up with many scobies, because they just keep forming.  I decided to list them on Craigslist for free, with the note that if people wanted to barter plants or produce to compensate me for my time, that would be extra cool.  I had regular responses and ended up getting in trade for three scobies:  one wedge of Mt. Townsend Trailhead cheese (delicious!), one tub of lentil sprouts, three eggplant, two tomato, three bell pepper, and four hot pepper starts and one holy basil plant.  Only one person opted to take a scoby with nothing in return.  I was pleasantly surprised by how willing people were to share their items.  I also handed out printed instructions with the scoby.

Kombucha scoby

Kombucha scoby

So, now I still have two jars that are continuously brewing and have quite a few scobies and I’m mulling over selling a kombucha starter kit, which will include a scoby, starter kombucha liquid, a cloth cover, rubber band, instructions and online support for a specified amount of time and perhaps a gallon jar or maybe not.  Clearly this would be something that wouldn’t make me rich or even pay any type of bills, but considering my response, there’s obviously a desire for scobies and although I like giving these babies out, it does take time and a few materials to package them up and print off instructions, so why not just do a whole kit?  So, I’m just tossing the idea around in my head.  I would still give replacements out to my friends for free, like I always do.

*Scoby (or mother)=Symbiotic Culture Of Bacteria and Yeast.  It’s what makes sweetened tea ferment into kombucha.  It’s a rubbery organism that produces a baby in almost every new batch of kombucha.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2009 6:05 pm

    I have been intending to try kombucha but haven’t taken the plunge yet. I can’t believe someone took your scoby without offering anything at all in return.

    I’ve been thinking about switching from blogger to wordpress, even have a site already, but wordpress confuses me. What do you like better about it?

    • July 6, 2009 6:37 pm

      I wasn’t offended that they didn’t offer anything, since I did list it in the free category and maybe they didn’t have what I was asking for. I was shocked that most people did offer something, actually!

      Kombucha is very easy and cheap to make.

      Re: WordPress. I think that it is a more complete package than Blogger. It has built in stats, you can have multiple pages, categories and tags are more functional, manipulating photos in the post body is easier. The gripes I have: I don’t know how to upload more than one photo at a time, and I could do five at a time in Blogger and there are fewer templates available with WordPress. I still prefer WP over Blogger and I’ve heard it’s more secure, too.

  2. Mom permalink
    July 7, 2009 5:49 am

    The honey ginger lemon or honey ginger combo sounds like it would be good.

Trackbacks

  1. David Wolfe’s Views On Kombucha

Leave a Reply

