Skip to content

Bare Bones Garden

June 29, 2009

With the myriad of issues my garden came up against this year, including puppy invading the garden area, no money to build raised beds, potential for getting 2nd tree cut down and wrecking garden in the process, it’s no surprise that my garden didn’t progress and I had envisioned it might in the winter.

I started seeds way too late for them to amount to anything.  Luckily, with some well-timed trades I got beautiful healthy vegetable starts.  I received tomatoes, onions and broccoli from my friend Sheila in exchange for setting up the food blog and I traded some of my kombucha scobies on Craigslist for tomatoes, eggplants, peppers and a basil.  I have only one raised bed in my actual garden area and a ton of weeds in the rest of it, despite hours of weeding; I just need to get some type of mulch covering the whole area, I think.  And with the puppy worries I ended up sticking tomatoes, onions and broccoli around my roses along my driveway a couple of weeks ago.  My husband made my garden fence taller and added some chicken wire to prevent the puppy from getting in between the horizontal wires on my fence, but ran out so it’s not completely chicken wire-covered and has a few gaps.  Yesterday before I realized Stella was still sneaking in, I planted the rest of the tomatoes, peppers, eggplants and started some cilantro and parsley in my lone raised bed.  In an area that was marked to receive a bed, I planted some summer squashes and I will plant some pickling cucumbers today.  I’m hope to weed another space in the next day or so and get a trellis up for beans.  I’m hoping that none of the plants suffer any puppy damage before we can secure some small amounts of chicken wire to finish the rest of the fence.

While it’s not all of had hoped, at least I have some things in the ground.  I won’t be getting any sauce tomatoes as I had planned, so I will still have to go pick some from our local u-pick, but I can hopefully get zucchini for drying and some tomatoes for canning diced tomatoes and maybe some green beans for freezing.

Tomatoes tucked between rose bushes

Tomatoes tucked between rose bushes

Tomatoes and broccoli

Tomatoes and broccoli

Raised bed with tomatoes, peppers, eggplants, a few random beets and some parsley and cilantro and some onions

Raised bed with tomatoes, peppers, eggplants, a few random beets and some parsley and cilantro and some onions

This is where the zucchinis and pickling cucumbers go

This is where the zucchinis and pickling cucumbers go

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

