Skip to content

One Mostly Down, One To Go

April 30, 2009
Pine coming down

Pine coming down

This is one of our pines coming down.  All of the foliage is off.  Two of the three crowns have been removed.  The one that you see on the left, which has been stripped of branches, is still standing, looking like our tree is giving the whole neighborhood the finger.  The most dangerous part has been removed and the rest will be removed shortly.  This tree has been a thorn in my side for years.  It was leaning and it worried me during windstorms.  It dropped so many needles and we were frequently dodging pine cones.  It shaded a good part of my garden even in the middle of summer.  I’m so glad that it’s nearly gone and soon to be completely gone.  We have one more pine which will likely come down within the next month.  That pine is also leaning, though not as badly as this one.  And while it doesn’t shade my garden, it dumps needles and cones directly into it and the soil is so acidified and dry under it that we can’t grow anything, so when it is gone, we can rehab the soil and plant grapes or espalier some dwarf trees or plant blueberries against the fence line.

It is really remarkable to watch an experienced arborist hang in the tree and cut huge limbs with ease and speed, then rappel down his climbing line when he’s ready to come down.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    May 1, 2009 1:37 am

    I am glad you are getting this taken care of. Much less worry for you. You are funny about the finger part.

  2. stitchy1 permalink
    May 2, 2009 7:20 pm

    I can totally understand your excitement to see those trees come down. I used to have a giant fir tree in my yard and it leaned and scared me in storms so I totally get that. Pines really aren’t supposed to be planted in suburban areas anyway. They aren’t suitable. An arborist told me that.

  3. underthebigbluesky permalink
    May 3, 2009 1:42 pm

    as much of a tree lover as i am. i am fascinated watching the art of tree cutting when it’s like your variety.

  4. May 3, 2009 5:27 pm

    Jen, it was very cool. I wanted to take more pictures but the tree guy kept looking at me like he didn’t want to be photographed, so I only ended up getting this one!

Leave a Reply

