Skip to content

Evaluating My Focus

April 25, 2009

img_2050Re-categorizing my nearly 750 posts this past week has given me a chance to reflect on how my blog has evolved over the past five years.  When I first started blogging, it was an attempt to keep in touch with family and friends who lived away from us and weren’t involved in our daily lives.  I was self-hosting at that time and kept a separate page for pictures of our family and updated it pretty regularly.  A couple of years ago I renamed the blog and switched to hosting with Blogger and became more focused on our shift to a more natural and organic lifestyle.  In the past several months I’ve felt my vision becoming stagnant and even considered taking a break from this blog.  When I was going through old posts I think I figured it out.  I’m not learning at the same rate I was when I was newly discovering the crunchy lifestyle.  This has been reflected in my recent infrequent posting.  Blogging is a powerful educational tool.  I have learned so much from other blogs and I hope that people pick up new information here, but that’s not all that I’m about and it’s not all that the blog used to be about either.  I’ve removed a chatty part of myself from the blog inadvertently.

I think that Twitter and Facebook have been partly to blame.  After all, I regularly update my status on both.  But in the same way that updating a person with a quick phone call can’t replace a long, leisurely conversation over a cup of coffee or a glass of wine, micro-blogging isn’t a substitute for full posts.  When’s the last time that I told you all about shows or movies that I’ve watched and loved, or a book that I couldn’t put down or just let you know how my day was going?  See, you probably can’t remember.

I’m going to try to get back to that happy balance of educational yet entertaining.  Let’s see how I do from here on out!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    April 26, 2009 12:03 pm

    I am so happy to hear this. I have missed your blogs when you were sharing daily things. Especially since I am so far away. I hope to get back to my blogging once I get settled.

  2. underthebigbluesky permalink
    April 28, 2009 1:32 am

    i did the same thing and cannot believe how my blog style has changed in just a year.

    i find sometimes i’m blogging silly things other times it’s all about the knowledge. i’ve enjoyed the crunchy parts you’ve shared, it’s helped me feel not so alone on the journey.

  3. April 28, 2009 4:35 pm

    Mom-I hope you get back to blogging too.

    Jen-I’m glad you’ve been enjoying my blog. You’re not alone in your journey, there are many of us!

  4. Mom permalink
    April 28, 2009 6:59 pm

    I am sure once I get moved and settled down I will have a better mindset to be blogging. I also will have more to blog about.

  5. stitchy1 permalink
    May 2, 2009 8:24 pm

    Isn’t it interesting how having to go through old posts can open your eyes to how you and your blog has evolved? I experienced the same thing when moving my blog. One of things I love best in any blog is the personal day to day details. I find that those can be the most connecting of all. Though I do love sharing information as well.

Leave a Reply

