Skip to content

Finished Quilt

April 14, 2009

I finished the quilt in the nick of time. No really. It was at about 2:30am on Juliana’s birthday when I finished! I did free-motion quilting with my machine. The quilt is only about 44″ x 44″, so it isn’t huge, but it was still awkward moving it around. I bound the edges using the backing fabric and folding it under, then hand stitching. The batting is flannel sheets that I bought at Goodwill for another purpose and decided to use for this. The back is also a piece of one of the sheets. It’s very soft and cozy. There are some imperfections on the quilt top, some puckering that happened when I was quilting it, but the birthday girl loved it and that’s what really matters!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    April 14, 2009 11:09 pm

    That is beautiful!

  2. Evelyn permalink
    April 15, 2009 2:46 am

    It is beautiful! You did a great job. You are right, the important thing is that she loves it.

  3. Angelina permalink
    April 15, 2009 3:40 pm

    I think it turned out great! If someone gave me any quilt they made by hand I would be thrilled and this one is so pretty! Not only that but with flannel in between it will be very warm.

  4. underthebigbluesky permalink
    April 15, 2009 10:15 pm

    i think it’s gorgeous! just did my own first batch of free motion quilting on the machine and it was awkward.

    if your girl loves it, that’s key!!!!

    good job mama.

  5. Cindy permalink
    April 16, 2009 3:38 pm

    It’s beautiful Lisa! The colors look so good together. I’m sure she’ll treasure it forever.

  6. April 17, 2009 6:29 am

    This is precious! I love the coziness of a quilt.

  7. April 21, 2009 9:06 pm

    That’s a lovely quilt Lisa.

    Oh boo, another defector, lol.

    Blogger RULES! 🙂

  8. April 23, 2009 1:26 am

    Thanks Mon!

    I don’t have serious issues with Blogger, I think it works great, actually. Since I’ve got the food blog here on WordPress, I figured I’d consolidate and I do like the dashboard for WordPress better. Blogger’s big plus is that there are so many more themes for Blogger and with WordPress you’re stuck with only about 75 unless you self host with WordPress.org.

Leave a Reply

