Skip to content

Birthday Quilting

March 27, 2009

I’m not a quilter. I’ve only made two small quilts in the past. They were Christmas gifts for my older two daughters and they were kind of made by the seat of my pants. They turned out pretty well, despite that and they’ve been well-loved for several years now and haven’t unraveled!

My youngest daughter is turning four in just a couple of weeks. She was a baby when I made them for Christmas of 2005, so I didn’t make one for her. She needs one. She’s currently making the transition out of our bedroom to the bedroom that she will share with Isabel and her very own, cuddly quilt could help, right?

When I made the quilts for the bigger girls, I did simple 4″ squares sewn together using eight different fabrics in their favorite colors. Pink for Maddy (not her favorite color anymore) and red for Isabel (still her favorite color). I can’t use the same system for Juliana, because she doesn’t have a favorite color. She likes all colors. I decided to choose eight different colorful fabrics and border each of them with solid pink (one of her favorites is she is really pressed to choose one). I hope it turns out well.

Here are the colored squares cut out and placed on the pink fabric for visual reference.


I need to have it finished in two weeks and one day. I hope I can get it done!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    March 27, 2009 10:10 pm

    Oh how pretty! I’m sure it will turn out well, but that is a short amount of time you’ve given yourself. Quilts and blankets make such lovely gifts.

  2. Hunny Bunny permalink
    March 28, 2009 11:50 am

    What a lovely job you are doing! Are you going to tie it or quilt it? Either way it will be fabulous! Those are not only colorful fabrics but happy!

  3. Evelyn permalink
    March 28, 2009 12:20 pm

    Oh, how beautiful! I am sure she will love it. I am also sure you will get it done in time, you always do.

  4. Tonia permalink
    March 29, 2009 2:32 am

    Very nice! I am sure you will get it done. I have never quilted and am in awe of those that do. What a great gift. tonia

  5. underthebigbluesky permalink
    April 2, 2009 12:25 am

    i love it. the pink makes the colors pop out. and that bird and tree fabric is one of my favorite fabrics ever!

  6. Angelina permalink
    April 4, 2009 5:17 pm

    I think it’s looking great. Are you going to machine quilt it? Tie it off? Or hand quilt it?

    If you machine quilt it you may need to show me how it’s done!

    If you tie it off you will have no problem at all getting it done.

  7. Lisa permalink
    April 8, 2009 2:10 am

    Sarah-It was a short amount of time, but it’s a very small quilt.

    Honeybunny-I went back and forth and ultimately decided to quilt it.

    Mom-I think I will make it in time!

    Tonia-I’m in awe of quilters, too, because I’m certainly not one!

    Jen-That bird and tree fabric is one of my favorites, too. So sweet!

    Angelina-I machine quilted it, but I don’t think you want lessons from me. My quilting skills leave much to be desired.

Leave a comment