Skip to content

My New Blog

January 31, 2009

Don’t worry, I’ll still have this one. And I’ll now have more time to actually keep this one updated, too.

My good friend Sheila and I are collaborating on a focused, local food blog, Mindful Plate. It’s been a long couple of weeks and I’ve finally got it mostly the way we want. I first started out experimenting with Movable Type after another good friend, Angela, installed it for me and showed me some of how to use it. After much gnashing of teeth I finally came to the conclusion that Movable Type is powerful and useful for some people but it wasn’t the thing for me. I don’t have the level of coding knowledge necessary to get the site looking the way I want and to maintain it, nor do I have the time to learn and get up to speed on what I would need to know. I also wanted to be able to do it myself rather than having to lean on Angela. She’s a busy lady in her own right.

So, Plan B. I switched over to WordPress.com. I was able to get things up and looking like I wanted and had a considerably easier time. In the future, I will upgrade to WordPress.org and migrate the whole thing to my server. In the meantime, I need to catch up with things that were neglected around here.

Please, visit the new site, bookmark it and let me know what you think!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    January 31, 2009 8:06 pm

    I’m excited about your new blog. It looks like it will have a lot of good information.

    My friend Laurel has a blog that is similar. You might want to pop over if you haven’t already.

    http://www.simplespoonful.com

    Cheers!

  2. Tonia permalink
    January 31, 2009 11:53 pm

    I like your new blog. I am adding it to the blogs I follow. -Tonia

  3. underthebigbluesky permalink
    February 1, 2009 1:59 am

    can never resist a good food blog, will check out simple spoonful as well!

  4. Lisa permalink
    February 1, 2009 7:10 pm

    Kim-Thanks! I’ll check out your friend’s blog.

    Tonia-Thank you! Glad you’re heading over. 🙂

    Jen-You and me both. Food blogs are a weakness of mine. Thanks for heading over!

  5. Lisa permalink
    February 1, 2009 7:10 pm

    Kim-Thanks! I’ll check out your friend’s blog.

    Tonia-Thank you! Glad you’re heading over. 🙂

    Jen-You and me both. Food blogs are a weakness of mine. Thanks for heading over!

Leave a Reply

