Skip to content

Dinner for the Next Six Nights

January 4, 2009

It’s been awhile since I posted a meal plan, or anything of substance really. This is a challenging time of year for me, because we don’t have a lot of locally grown produce available. Added to this is the fact that our freezer is pretty empty of meat* and we don’t purchase meat from the regular grocery store and prefer to purchase from locally raised animals and farmers we’ve met. That being said, I will occasionally purchase chicken, pork or ground beef from the local natural foods store, because they carry anti-biotic, hormone-free meat and some of it is locally grown. Also, our CSA is on break until the first week of February, but I did stock up a little during their special holiday harvest last week.

Here’s what’s for dinner for the next week or so:

This is not in chronological order, that’s not usually the way I do things. We are having the Split Peas Soup and accompanying dishes tonight.

What’s for dinner in your neck of the woods?

*We have a side of pork coming, probably early next week raised by our good friends Sheila and Andre at Growing Wild Farm and will probably have a side of beef soon from another good friend.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    January 4, 2009 8:55 pm

    It all sounds yummy! I am planning on fixing a vermicelli w/shrimp. The only local thing I know for sure that will be in it is fresh basil from my lemom basil plant. I am serving Rosemary Tuscan bread with it though that is from a local bakery.

  2. underthebigbluesky permalink
    January 7, 2009 2:33 am

    I am so missing fresh veg!

    The frozen veg and let’s not talk about the poor pitiful creatures I see in the grocery, are just not cutting it.

    We’re eating a lot of carrots, and spinach. They seem to be the only veggies that are retaining any type of brilliance these days!

    You menu sounds delightful. I made split pea soup last week. Trying black bean this week.

    Maybe a potato/leek.

    Nothing beats soup in the winter!

  3. Lisa permalink
    January 7, 2009 7:25 pm

    That sounds tasty, Mom.

    Jen-We love potato leek soup around here. Yum!

  4. Yolanda permalink
    January 7, 2009 10:08 pm

    It all sounds good.

  5. Kim permalink
    January 8, 2009 12:45 am

    mmmm….that sounds delicious and hearty. Tonight I can roasted carrot soup w/ grated Parmesan cheese and sauteed kale. It was pretty good, but I think I might be hungry in a bit…I was too lazy to cook anything more substantial 🙂

  6. Lisa permalink
    January 8, 2009 2:14 am

    Thanks Yolanda!

    Kim-Your soup sounds good, too!

Leave a Reply

