Skip to content

Another Greek Dinner

December 2, 2008

We don’t have any local Greek restaurants and even in this whole area there seems to be a dearth of them, so I like to cook up a big Greek feast every once in a while when we are having friends or family over. Yesterday my cousin and his wife were coming over for his birthday and they missed the last big Greek family meal in May (right before their wedding), so I did this one especially for him.

On the menu was :

  • Greek roasted potatoes
  • Tiropita (cheese pies)
  • Spanakorizo (spinach and rice, but I make this quite frequently and just swap the spinach for whatever greens we got in our CSA share; this week we had collard greens)
  • Dolmas
  • Chicken and beef souvlaki (not skewered, I always run out of time).
  • Galataboureko (basically custard sandwiched between phyllo dough with a lemon syrup poured over the whole thing [Maddy’s favorite dessert ever, she even requested this for her birthday dessert this year instead of a cake]), pictured below.


The dinner would have been even better if Lawrence had come home on time. Instead he got stuck at a customer’s (our best one actually), trying to get something done on time for them so they could resume production. It was a bummer that he missed the whole thing except for about the last twenty minutes, but despite having lots of perks, self-employment does have its drawbacks. One is that you have to keep your good, quick-paying, very close customers happy even if it means working when you hadn’t planned and you rather wouldn’t. He did get to eat some when he got home, we didn’t eat it all before he came!

We also got to see an ultrasound picture of my cousins’ baby. They are due the first part of June, and it is their first baby, so there was much excitement. Isabel thought the picture was creepy. She didn’t want to look at it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. adriana permalink
    December 2, 2008 6:25 pm

    So! Jealous! Want! More! Lisa! Greek! Food!

    PS I am still wanting to fill out the green questionnaire you challenged me to do, I’m just trying to find the right place to post it.

  2. Rane at : iremembersleep@yahoo.com permalink
    December 2, 2008 10:59 pm

    Hi ya dear!~ I am very busy
    but thought I would ask you for
    your homemade recipe for soap
    and such, any homemade chap~stick
    or what ever you have… I am going
    to make these as gifts but cant
    seam to find your recipe. The soap
    I made did not lather… I dont
    know what I did wrong.
    So anything you have Ideas for
    handmade send them my way.
    Thanks a million dear!
    BTW…. now I want Greek food!
    LOL!

  3. Lisa permalink
    December 2, 2008 11:56 pm

    Adriana-We missed you guys. It would have been great to have everyone here again eating together!

    Rane-I have to think about giving out my soap recipe. It’s proprietary, since I developed it myself, but at the same time I don’t completely agree with the mentality of making everything proprietary and not sharing with others. So…I guess I’ll have to get back to you on that one. Ditto the lip balm.

  4. Angelina permalink
    December 4, 2008 8:12 pm

    Lisa- I still think you should just tweak your version a little for recipe sharing so that no one knows exactly how you make yours but you can share your experience in making these things.

    I am so envious of that dinner- wow! I know from experience that you are an excellent Greek food cook.

  5. Rane permalink
    December 5, 2008 3:45 pm

    oh I totoally understand!
    Thanks a million!
    I think I found a recipe so
    dont worry!
    You are so sweet!
    Take care keep warm!
    Rane and kids
    ~~~~~~*~~~~~~~~~

Leave a Reply

