Skip to content

Poorhouse Pies

November 10, 2008


My good friend Angelina posted a recipe for Poorhouse Pies on her blog last week. The filling calls for cabbage, mushrooms, onions (duh! any savory recipe worth cooking calls for onions), feta and a few other seasonings.

Since cabbage is available in copious amounts this time of year here in the Pacific Northwest and I had a four pound tub of feta sitting in my downstairs fridge, I decided that this would be a perfect addition to my menu this week.

Angelina’s recipe doesn’t include a recipe for the dough, so if you don’t have a favorite calzone dough recipe, here’s the one I’ve used for several years.

I made the recipe exactly as she wrote it with this exception: I used homemade mustard in mine and decreased the amount a bit because I was worried that, though my mustard has been relaxing in the downstairs fridge for approximately six months, that it might still have too much bite to put a whole tablespoon on each calzone. I did a small, small smear and it could have used more. However, they were delicious.

If you have cabbage on hand, give this a try, then go and give Angelina feedback on it!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    November 10, 2008 8:03 pm

    That looks absolutely delicious!

  2. Tonia permalink
    November 11, 2008 2:08 am

    Sounds great. Onions are a given in my world too. Love those Alliums.

  3. Mon permalink
    November 11, 2008 9:11 am

    Oh man, I would love one of those right now, although it’s breakfast. Can I have it for breakfast? Why not…. send one over please.

  4. Angelina permalink
    November 11, 2008 10:37 pm

    I’m so happy you liked this!

  5. Angelina permalink
    November 11, 2008 10:37 pm

    I’m so happy you liked this!

  6. Cathy permalink
    November 12, 2008 12:45 am

    Yum, yum. This is my kind of food. We always had crocks of cabbage fermenting in the basement when I was a child. These pies sound delish.

  7. Cathy permalink
    November 12, 2008 12:45 am

    Yum, yum. This is my kind of food. We always had crocks of cabbage fermenting in the basement when I was a child. These pies sound delish.

  8. underthebigbluesky permalink
    November 13, 2008 4:15 am

    Yum, i just bought 3 huge heads of cabbage at the market. Must try this!

  9. Lisa permalink
    November 14, 2008 7:20 pm

    Mom-They were delicious!

    Tonia-I love all the alliums!!

    Mon-Sure! I had a leftover one for breakfast.

    Angelina-Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    Cathy-They are delish!

    Underthebigbluesky-Definitely, you should try them.

  10. Jana permalink
    November 15, 2008 9:32 pm

    Hi Lisa I made those yummy cabbage pockets today. I changed them though (I can hardly follow any recipe as it is written!) I cooked up some ground beef and added it to the mix. I used a French herb mixture because I couldn’t find the marjoram. I shredded the cabbage finely to make the mixture easier for my children. They were yummy. My DH thought that I should have nixed the mustard since I added the beef, he felt he could not really get a good taste of the beef. Regardless they were delicious. Thanks for posting it.

  11. Lisa permalink
    November 20, 2008 7:57 pm

    Jana, glad to hear they worked for you. They sound good!

Leave a Reply

