Skip to content

Meal Planning & Food Purchasing, In Detail

November 4, 2008

I’ve had some people in real life (and also online) wonder where I buy my food, how I buy in bulk, how I use CSA veggies, etc. I think many people have excellent intentions in transitioning to a more local food chain and healthier, home cooking with pre-planning, but sometimes the task of figuring out what to buy and where and how to utilize it when you already have a certain comfort zone, can be staggering. I know that it has taken me a good while to get to my current system. It has been tweaked whenever necessary and I’m pretty happy with the way it is working.

I’ve covered the basics of my meal planning method before, so I’m going to focus more on where I get the ingredients for meals.

Here are the places I get food:

  • Azure Standard-I buy most of our basic pantry items in bulk here, ordering bi-weekly. Oils, some spices, flour, beans, bread, sucanat sugar, honey, raw milk cheddar, apples in the fall, etc.
  • Harvest Fresh-This is a local health food store where I shop weekly and I get fruit and a few produce items that I need and don’t get in our CSA share, I also buy regular grocery items and very occasionally meat.
  • Winco-A local bargain, bag-your-own-groceries type of store. I don’t go here weekly, usually bi-weekly or even monthly sometimes. I get bulk baking soda, cheese (when our raw milk cheddar doesn’t ship) and really random things like phyllo dough, green tea, beer, bulk pasta.
  • Kookoolan Farms-All of our raw milk comes from this farm. I don’t buy pasteurized milk unless they are having supply issues and that is perhaps once per year.
  • Eggs, chicken, rabbit, beef, pork, lamb and goat-We get all these items from various local sources. We usually buy a whole animal (in the case of chickens, rabbits and goats) or half an animal (in the case of beef, pork and lamb), very rarely do we buy single cuts. We are getting a side of beef (this will be from my friend Jacki) and either a whole pig or half a pig (can’t remember what I ordered) around the 1st of December (this pig will be from Growing Wild Farm).
  • Oakhill Organics-Weekly CSA share, 10 months out of the year.

I’m going to list a recent meal plan and then list the ingredients for the week and where they came from.

  • Beef & Barley Soup; Roasted Kale & Romanesco
  • Chickpea Rosemary Soup; Roasted Butternut Squash; Fresh Bread
  • Spicy Sweet Potato, Shrimp and Coconut Soup; Chard, Beet Greens and Corn Stir-Fry; Galataboureko
  • Pot Roast; Roasted Sweet Potatoes; Sauteed Romanesco
  • French Rabbit; Rice; Sauteed Cabbage

Here’s a screen shot of a spreadsheet showing where the ingredients come from. You should be able to click it to open into a bigger image. Please let me know in the comments section if you can’t read it.

For breakfast we usually eat eggs in some form, oatmeal, yogurt, granola with milk, toast, baked goods or a combination of these.

For lunch we usually have leftovers, sandwiches or on occasion nachos or pasta.

I hope that this has been helpful, and clear. Please let me know if I can clarify any point.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Resident toy tester. permalink
    November 6, 2008 8:32 am

    Beautiful Lisa, your whole blog. I followed a link off of Teri’s. How do you find the time for all of this?!?!

  2. Cathy permalink
    November 6, 2008 3:54 pm

    A great blog, Lisa, and full of good information. You are a lot more organized than I am. I buy locally as much as possible and am very sad that our local farmer’s market season is over. I’ll be back often.

  3. Lisa permalink
    November 6, 2008 8:10 pm

    Thanks Linda. I find time for all of this by not cleaning my house very often. Seriously. It’s not my strong point.

    Cathy-Thanks for stopping by. Our local one is over too. It ended at the beginning of Oct. We’re in the same neck of the woods. I’m in Mac!

Leave a Reply

