Skip to content

Another Summary of Days

October 13, 2008

My days have so jam-packed lately that I haven’t had much time to blog about things, so here is a summary of Thursday and Friday.

Thursday was a busy one! We started out by going to J. and I.’s first tumbling/gymnastics class. They had a blast, despite J. being very hesitant and shy. 

Then we headed out to a local pumpkin patch with our homeschool group. 

 

The weather was really nice for the most part, then we got hit with a downpour shortly before we left.

After that we headed to the last farmers market of the season. It was a sad affair, really. We said good-byes to the vendors that we will miss seeing weekly. We will still see some of them regularly for other things, but the market setting is unique and special. It is a community affair and feels it. We always run into friends and have to allot not only the time it takes to shop, but chat time too! Though the weather is getting colder and autumnal, there was still lots to buy.

  • one cucumber
  • one bunch of carrots
  • one bell pepper
  • two zucchinis
  • one bunch of collard greens
  • one bag of broccoli (the last one they had!)
  • one small head of lettuce
  • one amber cup squash
  • one bag of fingerling potatoes
  • 2 delicata squashes
  • a couple pounds of tomatoes
  • one bag of cherry tomatoes
  • onions
  • jalapenos
  • six ears of corn
  • four pounds of pickling cucumbers
  • and we stocked up on some herbal medicines for the winter: two bottles of anti-viral tincture, one pound of lung relief tea and one pound of immune defense tea
  • a free bunch of flowers from one of Maddy’s friends

As we left, I reminded the girls that this was the last farmers market of the year and J. (3 1/2 years) replied, “But where will we get tomatoes from?” Haha! That cracked me up. I guess that question speaks volumes about how we shop and how and where our children perceive food comes from. Vegetables certainly don’t primarily come from a grocery store to them.

On Thursday night and Friday I heard that our area was expecting our first hard frost so I decided we better get out to the u-pick one last time for some tomatoes for sauce.

My helpers grabbed buckets and cart and went to work with me. We picked 45 pounds of paste tomatoes, a few more jalapenos, tomatillos for one last batch of tomatillo salsa, a few zucchinis for drying and more corn for freezing, possibly. I think I will finish our preserving this week and I will let you all know what I’ve been up to!

We left the farm with the sun lowering and this pretty shot of their flower field!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rane permalink
    October 13, 2008 9:12 pm

    It looks like you have been very
    busy! I thought it was funny
    where will we get our tomatoes
    because you have been canning so
    much you would think he would
    be tired of them!! LOL!!
    What do you do during winter… do
    you go to groceries?
    What do you do with the kids once
    the harvest is put up? What are
    your fall and winter crafts you
    do with them? I am trying to think
    about what to do with the kids
    this winter. Hum….. I want to
    do something that we can do
    together. What is your favorite
    food to cook during this season?
    We made pumpkin soup… yum!

  2. October 15, 2008 4:42 am

    Oh, you did what I wanted to do!! The only problem was that I learned of the freeze at 9 p.m….too late for picking anything other than my own piddly garden. I’m glad you got out there one last time.

  3. Lisa permalink
    October 15, 2008 5:38 pm

    Rane-No, we don’t get tired of tomatoes around here! For 10 months of the year we have a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) share and that’s where we get the bulk of our vegetables. We do go to the grocery store regularly, but it is for things that we can’t or don’t get from the farmers market, CSA or our bulk foods buying orders. That’s the minority of our purchases.

    I don’t do a lot of directed activities with my kids. They do a lot of free play and role playing pretend games and artistic activities, but it is very rarely coordinated by me. Usually I only coordinate special things like holiday cards or ornament making. My oldest does more homeschool work during the colder months and we have a cleaner house, too!

    dg-Yes, we had a bit more notice, so we were there about 5:00pm. Thank goodness!

  4. Lisa permalink
    October 15, 2008 5:38 pm

    Rane-No, we don’t get tired of tomatoes around here! For 10 months of the year we have a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) share and that’s where we get the bulk of our vegetables. We do go to the grocery store regularly, but it is for things that we can’t or don’t get from the farmers market, CSA or our bulk foods buying orders. That’s the minority of our purchases.

    I don’t do a lot of directed activities with my kids. They do a lot of free play and role playing pretend games and artistic activities, but it is very rarely coordinated by me. Usually I only coordinate special things like holiday cards or ornament making. My oldest does more homeschool work during the colder months and we have a cleaner house, too!

    dg-Yes, we had a bit more notice, so we were there about 5:00pm. Thank goodness!

Leave a Reply

