Skip to content

A Long Overdue Growing Challenge Update

October 10, 2008

Since I don’t update weekly or even at any regular interval, I don’t know if I can technically still claim to be participating in the Growing Challenge, but I am still in it in spirit!

Here are some recent photos of the garden and a helper.

Here’s the raised bed that I built at the beginning of August. You can see beets there on the bottom left, a couple of Brussel sprouts to the right of those and then all along the right side are rattlesnake beans. Above the beets is a strip of kale, then above that lettuce and radishes with some chard interspersed. Further up is cabbage, cauliflower and broccoli and at the very top is cilantro, basil and parsley.

When I was hanging laundry out to dry, I spotted this sparkling water droplet and it looked like a beautiful jewel, so I had to attempt to capture it.

Aren’t these purple blossoms on my rattlesnake beans pretty?

Some cherry and pear tomatoes and a nasturtium blossom that Isabel collected and then photographed.

Teeny, fully-ripe pear tomatoes!

We like to dress up all fancy to work in the garden!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Prairie Momma permalink
    October 10, 2008 5:40 pm

    I love it!!! A true lady in spirit – long beaded necklace to impress the bugs and weeds. She’s my kind of gal!!!

  2. Angelina permalink
    October 10, 2008 10:01 pm

    The garden bed looks so great! Are your beets bulbing? My beets have good healthy leaves on them but I don’t think they’re going to bulb.

    Juliana is so cute in this picture!

    I’m off to go pick the last of my ripe tomatoes from the garden and then I’m going to try to find some good sounding recipes for using green tomatoes. Cause I have lots of those.

  3. Evelyn permalink
    October 12, 2008 12:31 pm

    I love the gardening outfit. Adorable!

  4. Lisa permalink
    October 13, 2008 6:16 pm

    Cathy & Mom-I just couldn't resist including that photo. It was too great!

    Angelina-Mine aren't bulbing either. Green tomatoes…we did a goat cheese and green tomato quesadilla last year that the girls enjoyed, you could just swap cheddar or something else in place of the goat chees, I think there was also thinly sliced greens (kale?) in there. It was tasty.

Leave a Reply

