Skip to content

Tomatoes Get Saucy

October 4, 2008

On Wednesday evening we picked these 43 pounds of paste tomatoes in about 20 minutes. We had to, the u-pick farm changed their fall hours and closed one hour earlier than I thought!

I’ve never made or canned homemade tomato sauce before. I mean I’ve made quick tomato sauces with fresh tomatoes and even store-bought canned tomatoes, but never run fresh tomatoes through a food mill and cooked them down until dark red, fragrant and wonderful. I never knew what I was missing before. I decided to can some pints this year and had this in mind when we picked on Wednesday. But, after making the first batch, I realized that the sauce was too delicious and would not last us until next year. So, we need to try to get out again and pick more tomatoes. So far I’ve canned five pints and two half pints using a bit more than half of those tomatoes. The major problem is that on the first batch of four pints, I accidentally forgot to add citric acid (which I’m using in place of lemon juice) so I don’t think I can keep them on the shelf very long. I was planning on just storing them in the extra fridge, but last night when I was getting short on time for planning dinner and I’d been smelling this deliciousness for so long, I decided to make spaghetti and lamb sausage meatballs.

Oh my. I think it was the best spaghetti I’ve made, ever. I used three of my un-citric acidified pints, so now I’m already down to three pints and to half pints. I won’t get double that with the tomatoes I have left, because I’m going to try drying some in my dehydrator. See why I need to pick more?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rane permalink
    October 6, 2008 4:29 pm

    MMMmmmm! Looks yummy! What a great
    looking pasta! I know what I
    am making for dinner now! But mine
    will be from a jar but your pasta
    has made me hungry and it is
    something we havent had in a long
    time! Yum!!
    What is your fav dinner recipe?

  2. Hunny Bunny permalink
    October 8, 2008 2:39 am

    I’ve been looking at your last few posts (catching up on blogging after a move) and I must say you are quite the inspiration! I was hoping to can this year and it hasn’t happened, but I can say next year I will be looking through all your old posts!!! It’s amazing.

  3. Rane permalink
    October 9, 2008 4:47 pm

    Hey where are you? I hope all is
    well and you are just being a
    chipmonk storing away food and to
    busy to blog. Take care hon~
    Rane
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  4. Lisa permalink
    October 10, 2008 5:02 pm

    Hunnybunny-Glad to see you back! Thanks for the kind words!

    Rane-Everything’s fine, thanks for checking. Just been busy canning. More to follow on that!

Leave a Reply

