Skip to content

Using Even the Smallest Bits Up

September 25, 2008

What do you do with those little chunks of soap that are too small to be easily used? Do you just throw it away? It seems rather wasteful to do so, especially if you are springing extra for natural soap. One thing to do is to chuck all those small bits into a bowl and save them up til the bowl is full. When the bowl is full, pour them into a small pot, add a bit of water and melt them down. Pour that thick soap into a container to mold it (in this case I used the same bowl that we had stored the small bits in).

Let it harden for a day or so and pop the block of soap out out of the bowl.

Then cut this block of soap into bar sized portions.

After you cut the bars let them harden for a few days and then use for hand soap or put it back in the shower or bath.

One word of caution: if you use commercial “soap” it is a detergent and not a true soap. So it won’t melt like the other real soap will. See those white parts in the soap? Those are little bits of hotel soap bars (I didn’t use those, Lawrence did, by the way) that were thrown in there. So, while they didn’t melt, they still work for cleaning purposes and make it visually interesting. In fact, when I had the cut bars sitting on the cutting board I had several people ask me if it was some kind of dessert or fudge! I don’t remember clearly, but I think that Anne Frank did something similar to this, but maybe she made shampoo or something different from soap bits and gave them as a Hanukkah gift to her mother or maybe a sister. Anyone remember?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rane permalink
    September 25, 2008 7:01 pm

    I have one of the foam pump
    soap things and I just put a
    piece in there with a bit of
    boiled water…. it will get
    all slippery and foamy… the
    kids like it better. I also
    like to use the thin slivers
    for sewing, I can wash latter
    and gone. It washes out of silk
    cotten jean…. it does not matter.
    If you use clear you can put
    a small toy in like a rubber
    ball or what not and all you do
    is pore half let it harden then
    put the toy and add the rest.
    infact if you dont tell them
    and use the colored soap it will
    be like a treasure. And they will
    wash there hands even more.LOL!
    Being mom is such fun!!!!
    Today we are having Roast chicken,
    Stuffing, Mashed Potatoes, Mac~n~
    cheese,green beans,salad and Apple cake (we picked them this past weekend.)
    Tomorrow I will make a bake.
    It is sort of like a cottage pie.
    Green beans on the bottem chicken
    then stuffing. On top the mashed
    potatoes. Use a fork to make a
    design then I bake it for about
    40 minutes at 375. And if you
    Roast 2 chickens at the same
    time(it takes the same amount
    of time) then you can make
    enchalatas(how my daughter says it)
    it sounds like a coffee! I know
    that it is not Japanese but it
    is nice to step out of the regular
    food we eat, my husband has
    learned over the years to eat my
    strange food… LOL! We tend to eat
    japanese food all of the time.
    The kids like it most so I am
    out numbered. Dont get me wrong
    I love japanese food…. but I am
    a gal of many tastes! Sooooo
    I love many different kinds of
    food. My little boy eats only
    Japanese. If I give him chicken
    I better have sauce and rice for
    it! LOL!I also get bored of cooking
    the same thing.
    oops…. this became a gripe fest!!
    Sorry….LOL!
    What is your fav food to make?

  2. Angelina permalink
    September 25, 2008 11:24 pm

    This is such a great idea! I was thinking “wow, now I know what to do with all those slivers…” but we actually don’t have any because I use the last bit of soap all the time in the shower. smoosh it onto my washcloth and get clean.

    But if I had bits…I’d totally do this!

  3. Lisa permalink
    September 26, 2008 10:18 pm

    Cool use of the soap slivers, but DANG! I thought the pictures were of caramel fudge or something!! Now, I’m craving some!!

Leave a Reply

