Skip to content

A Morning at the Park

September 23, 2008

I’m a little behind here, but we spent Sunday morning having some long overdue family time. We woke up when it was still dark to drive out into the hills and see the sunrise. We ended up leaving a few minutes to late, but even so, it was heavy cloud cover and we wouldn’t have seen it anyway.

We headed to a local county park and found a tanglebox, even though it is officially over for the summer. We picked wild blackberries; though the season is ending there were still ripe berries and a few almost ripe ones.

We picked about six or seven cups worth.

Then after skipping rocks, playing ball and just having fun together we headed home. On the way we stopped at another county park that’s on the same road and found a letterbox and the girls climbed a three trunked tree.

For dinner, I made several things that have been inspired by blog I read. I made potato samosas and plum chutney, which Riana made a couple weeks ago and I used those foraged blackberries to make a blackberry cobbler using Melinda’s husband Matt’s recipe. It was a delicious dinner and a fun day.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    September 24, 2008 1:10 pm

    Sounds and looks like you had a wonderful day. I am so glad for you all. It is very important to just take time off like that once in a while.

    The cobbler looks delicious!

  2. Melinda permalink
    September 24, 2008 8:21 pm

    Sounds like a perfect day! I’m so glad you made the cobbler… yum. And samosas with plum chutney sound divine! Mmmm. Now I’m hungry. : )

  3. Rane permalink
    September 25, 2008 2:50 pm

    The 23 was my youngest son’s
    birthday. We had loads of fun.
    I am glad that you had a peaceful
    day too. Glad that you are having
    fun and not only working. The best
    thing is that you live in the
    moment sometimes. I was looking at
    my children sleeping this morning,
    when did my oldest turn 12????
    Ack! I am thinking about them alot
    today as they are at school,
    I wonder if the weather has todo
    with it but I am wanting comfort
    foods too. What are your comfort
    foods??
    iremembersleep@yahoo.com

  4. Lisa permalink
    September 25, 2008 5:15 pm

    Mom-The cobbler was delicious. I’m normally not a huge blackberry fan, but this was good.

    Melinda-The samosas and chutney were delicious!

    Rane-I know the feeling. My oldest will be 12 next month! Hmm. Comfort foods…That’s a hard one, because I like to cook so many different things and different styles. I guess that I would probably have to say that baked goods are comfort foods for me. I like homemade macaroni and cheese to, but I don’t think I have traditional comfort foods beyond that.

Leave a Reply

