Skip to content

The Growing Challenge, A Long Overdue Update

August 27, 2008

Who knew that by participating in the growing challenge I would be jinxing myself and facing actual gardening challenges this year?

First my seedling starting method largely failed. Then we didn’t actually have our summer start until, well, it kind of didn’t start at all. We’ve had hot spells and then more cool and rainy weather and it hardly feels like we had a summer and here it is almost over.

The good thing is that I got my raised bed made almost a month ago and got it planted out. The bad thing is that I haven’t made the second one I needed to get done. Hopefully I can get that done soon and get some garlic in next month.

Here’s the south end of the raised bed. You can see rattlesnake beans in the back, radishes at the far left, kale in the center and beets and Brussel sprouts at the right.

Here’s the center of the bed. At the left you see cabbage and then directly to the right cauliflower starts. The far right is the same radishes (oh I forgot to mention that the radishes are inter planted with chard) and below the radishes are lettuce. I need to plant some more lettuce.
This is the north end of the bed. It has at the far left basil, then to the right cilantro, then broccoli, and then cabbage and cauliflower.

These are some potatoes that I threw into an old tire. They seem to be doing well.

I should mention that all these pictures were taken several days ago and all of the plants have gotten much bigger. I also have carrots and green onions planted in those beds, but they aren’t visible in the photos. Parsley is coming up now, above the basil and it wasn’t yet in these photos. Also, I have added another tire on top of the potatoes because they have grown lots.


This is a bowl of peas that Isabel picked from the dying pea vines. She also shot this picture.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    August 27, 2008 5:39 pm

    It looks great! So nice and green!

  2. Angelina permalink
    August 29, 2008 11:21 pm

    your garden is lusher than mine! Good work!

Leave a Reply

