Skip to content

I Might Not Have Mastered Organization, But I’m Persistent

August 6, 2008

You longer time readers will probably chuckle to yourself when I tell you that I am making another attempt at a family schedule and more organized life/time management.

I know, I should have gotten it by now, but I haven’t. I just can’t seem to have my tasks in order. I forget what I should be doing and get sidetracked. It’s not early onset Alzheimer’s or adult ADHD. It’s just that I have so many little and different tasks to get done, that it’s very easy to forget oh, 30 or 40% of them and sit there staring and wondering what it was I needed to do.

Since an earlier start to the day would behoove our finances by allowing my dear hubby to get up and at ’em sooner. I am giving it another go. I have actually printed out a bare bones schedule and I think that it will give me a concrete reminder of what I need to have done and when. It’s got huge gaps in it for free flow, but the main things like dinner, bed time and waking up are there in black ink, right in my kitchen where I will see it most frequently.

Another thing I have done is buy a pretty, blank-but-lined, journal and a special pen that sits in the ringed portion (so no excuses) for my to-do list. I have allotted one page per day and shift undone tasks to the next day. I’ve been doing this for about five days now and it does help keep me more on task. I like being able to check off what I have accomplished and look back and see how I’ve been doing on my list daily. It’s much more useful to me than my dry-erase board list that was short-lived.

Now, the big question is if I will be able to keep these methods up for the most part. I hope so. I’m going to try hard.

What organization methods have you scattered people found helps you in the long term?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Hunny Bunny permalink
    August 6, 2008 4:29 am

    Yay to pretty motivating notebooks! I know you can do it, I’ve been on and off organized for the last few years, I’ve noticed as the littles get bigger it’s getting easier.
    Ooh come play with me on my blog. I’m starting my holiday organizer and have some handy links….
    I have started my home management binder, and have nailed down two solid weeks of menus. Hopefully I can finish the whole binder. It’s very difficult for me to stick with it when it’s partially done, I just want to finish.

  2. Evelyn permalink
    August 6, 2008 2:35 pm

    So far I have been keepeing a sticky note on the right hand side of my desk at work. During the day I write down things I want to do when I get home so I don’t forget. Plus, like you, it makes me feel like I have accomplished something when I cross them off. I like your idea of the journal though. I could keep it open on my desk. It would be easy to carry with me since I bring my tote back every day. Then on the weekends, I could have it on my desk at home.

  3. The Mad Tatter permalink
    August 7, 2008 3:27 pm

    I have a small calendar in which I keep my appointments and in said calendar, I keep a sticky note with tasks to be completed in the current week. If a task is urgent, I highlight it. If a task has been ignored long enough that it needs to be transferred to the next week’s sticky note, I reconsider whether it really needs to be done…and if it does, I take a moment to figure out why I have been avoiding it. I write down everything because it is so satisfying to be able to cross stuff off and I also don’t need to worry about forgetting anything.

  4. Angeleen permalink
    August 7, 2008 5:29 pm

    Oh, HONEY! I feel your pain!

    I have been making supernatural efforts in this direction for the last month… starting with deep cleaning/purging my house. I am now on Grace’s bedroom. I spent ALL DAY cleaning it out yesterday … I am about half way done. UGH!

    I can serenely (and proudly) say, however, I have ALL the school supplies purchased and it’s not even Labor Day weekend! It was amazing to find everything I needed in abundance and not have to fight a single frazzled, sweaty, rabid mom for the last wooden ruler! It totally rocked!

    As I have been cleaning out the girls’ clothes, I have been dividing them into “keep,” “donate,” “New to You,” and “over used.” As I’m going through them, I am making a list of what they actually NEED for school and not just going to the outlet mall on a guess and a prayer. Can you believe it?!

    Up next…

    Time management!

    Look at us, Lisa. We’re GROWING! LOL! 🙂

  5. Angelina permalink
    August 7, 2008 5:55 pm

    When I first read that I thought it said “…but I’m the president!”

    Good for you for continuing to try. I need to do the same.

  6. Lisa permalink
    August 7, 2008 11:57 pm

    hunnybunny-It sounds great. I’ve read your post, but I haven’t checked out the links yet. I’m trying to limit the time on the computer to try to get more actual stuff accomplished, but I’ll try to get a look at all you’re doing.

    Mom-That sounds like a good idea. A pretty journal has been fun, too. You should get something nice for yourself.

    Mad Tatter-That’s a great idea!

    Angeleen-It sounds like you are making great strides. I have been trying to organize and declutter too. We started in the living room several weeks ago and got that done, made it into the dining room and got 4/5 of the way done and it has been stalled there. But, the things we did do have stayed much neater.

    Anyway, keep it up. Sounds like you are doing great!

    Angelina-Wouldn’t this place be much better if I was president? I’d start out by ripping out all the White House lawn and planting food and herb gardens.

  7. han_ysic permalink
    August 11, 2008 3:47 am

    I try and have people over for dinner at least once a week, as it seems the only thing that will get me to tear myself away from the highly important jobs in the garden is the potential shame of my house being a complete pigsty. I like have a written job list. I do that for my garden, maybe I should do it for inside too. I’ll give anything a go.

  8. Lisa permalink
    August 12, 2008 4:40 pm

    That’s a great idea, Hannah. I always clean my house before people come over!

Leave a Reply

