Skip to content

A Mostly Unimpressive Garlic Harvest

August 5, 2008

I’m not really disappointed. How much can you expect for something that you stuck into the ground in September and harvested ten months later with no effort put into it, not even watering? Some cloves didn’t produce any heads, just one larger sprouted clove, but some did produce whole heads.

Information gleaned from the internet tells me that you should harvest when about half the leaves are green and half have died back. Most fit that bill though a few of them had no green leaves remaining.

Here’s the haul. Not too bad. I’m sure with proper irrigation it would have been much better. I will definitely be doing it again this year.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Hunny Bunny permalink
    August 6, 2008 2:44 am

    Oh my gosh that’s wonderful!!! I’ve never seen garlic from a garden, and am sitting here thoroughly amazed.

  2. Lisa permalink
    August 7, 2008 11:58 pm

    Hunnybunny-It was so easy. Maybe one of the easiest I’ve grown. At least up there with radishes.

  3. han_ysic permalink
    August 11, 2008 3:50 am

    I notice the garlic all have flower heads. I think that a lot of a garlics energy goes into that head, so if you chop it off earlier (you can add it to salads etc)the garlic bulb will be a lot bigger, and have more cloves. Try it next year and see.
    Hannah

  4. Lisa permalink
    August 12, 2008 4:41 pm

    Hannah-Thanks for the advice. I thought about clipping them to stir fry, because I’ve bought them before, but I didn’t know if it would adversely affect growth. Guess I should have cut them!! I will do that next year.

Leave a Reply

