Skip to content

My Outdoor Clothesline

August 3, 2008

My dear hubby finished installing my outdoor clothesline on Thursday. The posts had been in the ground for several days, but we were waiting for the arrival of the line. He fabricated the posts for me out of scrap material that he had around the shop. I had to tighten a few lines after I hung some laundry and realized they weren’t taut enough. That’s been the only glitch so far.

It has five lines and it is about 33 feet long.

It can hold a lot of laundry. I think that it might even be faster to do all of our laundry on the clothesline than the dryer. Frequently a washer load is done, but I have to wait for the dryer to finish. This line can easily hold several loads of wash, so no more waiting on the dryer. And the clothes dry so much quicker than in the basement!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    August 3, 2008 7:37 pm

    That’s great! I love clothes drying on a clothesline. I love the fresh smell they have.

  2. expat permalink
    August 4, 2008 3:28 am

    I really like the design of your blog…and I don’t blame you for not posting every day! If I posted on all of my sites every day, that’s all I would do!

  3. Angelina permalink
    August 4, 2008 5:09 pm

    Ohhh…deep envy! Welding is such a useful skill!

  4. Mojavi permalink
    August 5, 2008 4:07 am

    there is a clothesline on the side of my house…..

    I wonder if I could get hubby to move it to the backyard?

    I just put one up in the basement for now.

  5. Lisa permalink
    August 5, 2008 12:02 pm

    I’m having clothesline envy too! I have a 40 foot retractable one mounted on a tree, but it’s not conveniently located and it just isn’t enough line!

    i am gong to put another line in the backyard (where Studly can’t see it!) to double my space.

    Oh, and sadly, you won the give it away over at my blog. Stop on by to collect or tell me where to put it!

  6. Anonymous permalink
    August 5, 2008 3:14 pm

    Lisa, everyting old is new, again!
    Love it!
    Aunt K

  7. Lisa permalink
    August 5, 2008 5:07 pm

    Mom-I like the smell, too. It’s just a non-smell to me. No chemical smell, nothing really.

    Expat-Thanks!

    Angelina-His skills do come in very handy for us!

    Mojavi-Having a clothesline in the back is very handy. A little more privacy for personal items like undies. My oldest dd was mortified to find out that her underwear would be drying on the line. It wasn’t so bad when I showed her that it would hang on one of the center lines for privacy. I wouldn’t like it much on the side of the house, I think. If it’s not set in concrete, it shouldn’t be too hard to move. I have one line in the basement, too, for inclement weather and this is so much nicer and quicker.

    Lisa-40′ certainly isn’t enough! I won a prize? That never happens!

    Aunt K-Isn’t that the truth? 🙂

Leave a Reply

