Skip to content

Blueberry Season is Fully Here

July 27, 2008

It did get a slow start, though. Friday of last week, we went picking at the blueberry fields we went to last year. They had opened two weeks late with a much smaller blueberry crop than normal. We picked for more than an hour and I came home with about 2 1/2 pounds of berries.

Then a wonderful thing happened. I found out about a blueberry u-pick that was much closer to us. A couple miles away, whereas the other field was at least 15. But here’s the really fabulous and novel thing for me, you can pick for $2.00/lb or you can pick for free and leave half of the berries you pick for the farm to sell. How cool is that? I can support my blueberry habit for free this summer for a little sweat investment. The only bad thing is that they are open from 7-12 and I’m not a morning person, so I really have to make an effort to get out there earlier than 11:25am, which is what happened this Friday. Still I managed to get 5.5 pounds picked in that 35 minutes, with Maddy’s help, so we took 2.75 pounds home.

This morning’s breakfast.

The blueberries remaining from that 2.75 pounds. We are definitely going to have to make another longer trip this week. I need to freeze lots and maybe dry some.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Angelina permalink
    July 27, 2008 10:07 pm

    I am so jealous!!! I need blueberries and I’m having fears of not enough this year. What day will you go back to this place? Where there lots ripe? Were there lots of people?

  2. Lisa permalink
    July 27, 2008 10:10 pm

    Angelina-I think I might shoot for Tuesday. There were lots of ripe blueberries, lots of almost ripes ones and not lots of people. It was great!

  3. @JeanAnnVK permalink
    July 28, 2008 1:43 pm

    YUM! I have been picking like mad off of the 4 bushes I have in the back…hard to get anything made with them, tho, cause I keep eating them right off the bush!

  4. Lisa permalink
    July 30, 2008 9:36 pm

    I’ve been contemplating planting some blueberries. Do your four produce enough to preserve?

Leave a Reply

