Skip to content

Cherry Pit Ice Cream

July 25, 2008

I first heard of the idea of cherry pit ice cream from Garlic Breath.

Not everyone knows this but the almond oil that we associate with the sweet almond-y smell isn’t really almond oil from the nuts that we eat. Sweet almond oil from that nut is mostly scentless and is used in massage oils and soaps and such as a base. The fragrant bitter almond oil is from bitter almonds.

Cherries (and apricots and peaches) have a tiny kernel in the pit that looks almond-like and has an almond-y smell. Of course, the pits also contain small amounts of cyanide and are touted by some to be potent cancer cures. We didn’t experience any side effects from eating the ice cream, but you should be aware before you decide to eat any. I don’t have any qualms about eating it anymore, though I must admit that I didn’t have a small amount of worry as I was eating it last night, for the first time.

I took the hammer to a few cups of cherry pits and smashed them up.

Then infused the milk and cream with the cherry pits.

After a few morse steps, you get to enjoy a cup of this delicious confection. I think the taste is a mixture of pistachio and almond, not straight almond. The ice cream was rich and creamy and nutty. The color was a buttery yellow, thanks to the gorgeous orange color of the dozen pastured egg yolks in the creme anglaise base. I wish you all were here to share a couple scoops with me. I will be making again, at least once. I almost have enough pits for another batch.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    July 26, 2008 12:03 pm

    Sounds and looks yummy!

  2. Angelina permalink
    July 26, 2008 3:28 pm

    I am fascinated! What about the cyanide? How much do you have to eat to get cyanide poisoning? I don’t really like ice cream unless there are big chunks of goodies in it like broken up cookies or pieces of chocolate with pieces of cherries. Mostly I like the stuff, not the ice cream.

    I love almond flavor though. I wish I could grow almonds here.

  3. Lisa permalink
    July 30, 2008 9:38 pm

    Angelina-According to Riana, you have to eat a ton to get sick. I also love almond flavor which is why I had to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

