Skip to content

Living the Hectic Life

June 24, 2008

Okay, so maybe I just have a lower tolerance to planned activities than the average person. We have had an art camp for the last week that will continue this week for Maddy and swimming lessons for Isabel in the same time frame. I’m only responsible for picking Maddy up in the afternoon; a friend is taking her in the morning. Still, I’m finding our family non-schedule thrown into a tizzy. I don’t know how you public or private school parents do it for nine months out of the year, this following somebody else’s schedule thing. I find much of my day consumed by waking and preparing children to leave, taking children, running errands while we are out, picking up children and then finally having a bit of time to straighten up and then prepare dinner. The girls are cranky because they are used to a slower pace and more time at home doing their things. The two girls doing activities are loving what they are doing, but I find them needing downtime in a way that they don’t normally require.

So, I will take this opportunity to apologize for not keeping up with reading your blogs or commenting on your comments on my blog. I do read all of the comments and appreciate them, but find myself short on time to reply, at least for the next week.

I’m hoping to get back to our usual pace next week, at which time I should do some yard work, because I think our neighbor (single, retired and hires gardeners) is finding it disturbing to look upon our backyard from his deck. It’s not his fault that his deck looks over our yard (nor is it ours). I don’t exactly have the time or the money that is available to him and his well coiffed yard. However, it’s kind of bothering me to look out at my backyard, too, so that is probably the more important point. I should also try to get some kind of edible plant into my garden, besides the two radishes, three spinaches and forty some odd garlics and the strawberry plants that the dog keeps pooping on.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Angelina permalink
    June 24, 2008 10:04 pm

    Your call out to us public school parents totally made me laugh…I’m always doing that to my homeschooling friends! I like the scheduled life to a certain extent. I need the structure. I get lost when I don’t have it.

    I think so many of the choices we make speaks to our natures. We build a life, generally, that suits our natures. (Those of us who realize that we have a choice.)

Leave a Reply

