Skip to content

Enlarging My Cold Storage Capacity

June 13, 2008

I’ve been dealing with an increasingly crowded refrigerator, with all my homemade concoctions taking up so much space in glass jars along with our other food. It finally came to a head today when I got my milk order, my weekly eggs, a lot of vegetables from the farmers market and my Azure Standard bulk order. So, we decided it was time to buy an auxiliary fridge for the basement. Years ago we had a second one, but we bought it used and it gave out after about 1 1/2 of service.

Being new, this also won’t be a power hog than an older one would be. It was mighty hard to stick to our guns and buy a basic, no frills smaller one. All those refrigerators are so new and shiny and the ice water dispensers in the doors were beckoning to me (our current main one doesn’t have these features).

I’m thrilled with the new space, but Lawrence is also very happy. He’s intimidated by going into ours and looking for food, because there are so many of my “experiments” as he calls them, and I don’t have everything labeled, because I know what they are. He’s hoping the experiments will go downstairs and the recognizable food will go in the main one. So, now I will have space to put my gallon of whey, mustards that are aging to tone down the spiciness, extra eggs, giant block of raw cheddar, extra milk and veggies. It will be so much safer now, opening the main fridge and not having a possible deluge of glass jars.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Prairie Momma permalink
    June 13, 2008 3:23 pm

    Welcome to the Couple’s Club. You’d think that involves humans, but it just involves appliances. We have had 2 frigs and 2 freezers for years since we aren’t close to a store, and I don’t know how I could ever go back to 1. I also would love to have 2 washing machines, 2 dryers, 2 this, 2 that – but I’ll contain myself. Enjoy the new frig and don’t expect it to stay empty for long! Oh, another note, watch out for those items that will get “forgotten” in the back of the bottom shelf of the extra frig. I don’t know how it happens, but that’s where we lose things and risk our lives when we clean it out.

  2. Lisa permalink
    June 13, 2008 7:07 pm

    Cathy-I really did enjoy when we had a second one, so I can imagine what it will be like with one again. I can even make the garlic refrigerator pickles that everyone else in my family loves, again.

    I am fine with one of every other appliance, with the exception that a second stove would sometimes come in handy!

  3. Angelina permalink
    June 17, 2008 3:59 pm

    I sometimes wish I had an extra fridge but I’m going to stop at the freezer. I only have a family of three so what we have should be plenty.

    still…room for experiments? That is fabulous!

  4. Cindy permalink
    June 18, 2008 12:08 am

    I don’t know what I’d do without my second fridge. And my second freezer. Thank goodness for the solar panels!

    Garlic fridge pickles? I hadn’t thought of that . . .

  5. Lisa permalink
    June 18, 2008 4:48 pm

    Angelina-I think I proabably wouldn’t want an extra fridge with only three of us either. I’m enjoying it. If you need to store some extras, you can always use my space!

    Cindy-Solar panels? Are you off grid? About the garlic fridge pickles, I made them several years in a row. They are crunchier because they aren’t canned with heat. Then our second hand, second fridge died and I haven’t made them since.

  6. cheeseslave permalink
    June 21, 2008 10:50 pm

    I’m going to get a second freezer, too. My fridge is full, and now my freezer is full, since I buy my milk and eggs and butter etc. in bulk and freeze. Now I need a second freezer so I can buy 1/4 of a cow. I’m going to start buying from Azure Standard, too.

    I think it’s worth the price of buying and running a freezer (or 2 freezers, as the case may be) since you can save so much by buying in bulk.

  7. cheeseslave permalink
    June 21, 2008 10:52 pm

    Ooops I didn’t mean to say eggs. I don’t freeze my eggs! LOL! However, I do always have at least 4 dozen eggs in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

