Skip to content

An Addition to the Family

June 9, 2008
Not the frog, we’ve had her for awhile, but the guinea pig is new.

Her new name is Elvira. The family we got her from had named her Keffie, but the girls decided that was an unacceptable name. She is named after Elvira in The Rats of NIMH, totally Maddy’s idea. I was partial to Jenny the Guinea. That idea was vetoed. Elvira’s nickname is Elvie. She is being treated like royalty around here and the girls are thrilled to have her.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. adriana permalink
    June 9, 2008 5:05 pm

    Elvira is rad, but can I just take a moment to say that the frog suit is the cutest thing I’ve ever seen?

  2. Lisa permalink
    June 9, 2008 6:21 pm

    That frog suit has gotten a lot of use. It was a Halloween costume a couple of years ago and has been in the dress up box since then.

  3. Lisa permalink
    June 10, 2008 10:18 pm

    i thought maybe she was named for Elvira Mistress of the Dark. Remember her? 80’s icon of campy horror films? Nevermind… You’re too young for that nonsense.

    Cute frog suit, cute kids, cute rodent!!

  4. Mysti permalink
    June 11, 2008 3:04 pm

    LMAO! I thought the same thing as Lisa! That totally dates us doesn’t it? I used to stay up on Friday nights to watch her and whatever B movie they were showing. Ahh the memories. 🙂

    She looks awesomely loved by the girls. What a spoiled guinea she’s going to grow up to be.

  5. Lisa permalink
    June 11, 2008 5:15 pm

    Lisa & Mysti-I do know who that Elvira is. I’m not that young! In fact, that’s who I was thinking of before Maddy told me it was from the Rats of NIMH and I was wondering where they would have seen the Elvira Mistress of the Dark. I did see her last fall doing a Halloween special and let me tell you, she’s looking pretty old!

  6. Lisa permalink
    June 11, 2008 5:15 pm

    Lisa & Mysti-I do know who that Elvira is. I’m not that young! In fact, that’s who I was thinking of before Maddy told me it was from the Rats of NIMH and I was wondering where they would have seen the Elvira Mistress of the Dark. I did see her last fall doing a Halloween special and let me tell you, she’s looking pretty old!

Leave a Reply

