Skip to content

The Growing Challenge, A Belated Update

June 1, 2008

I’ve been negligent in updating for The Growing Challenge. Truth be told, I’m really struggling with being a gardener this year. So many obstacles presented themselves: abnormal weather, failure to prepare all my beds adequately last fall, unsuccessful seedling starting method. If it had been only one thing, then I would have been able to (probably) keep going without losing momentum. With all of these at the same time, it makes it a challenge to get and stay excited about gardening. I have very little in the ground right now and some of the seeds I sowed haven’t appeared. Some did appear and were promptly eaten by snails before I could even apply my eggshell snail deterrent. I will have to rely on some starts bought from the local farm store and sow some more seeds and cross my fingers. In the meantime, here are some photos of plants that are thriving:

Strawberries

Comfrey

A calendula that reseeded itself last year.

Soapwort, which I’ve recently read can be boiled and it makes a mild cleaning solution or laundry solution for delicates, kind of like nature’s very own Woolite.

My new lavenders are all full of buds.

Who knew that horehound has these pretty little purple flowers? Apparently not me!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    June 1, 2008 5:50 pm

    Oooh, pretty pictures! I love pretty pictures of garden stuff!

    You aren’t the only one with gardening challenges this year. I never got the new bed tilled enough and manured, so my strawberry plants kinda rotted and started to stink before I got them in the ground! I never got the corn planted, oh well, and if i don’t get out there with my basil seeds, there won’t be any when the tomatoes come in (and that would be tragic!)

    I think it’s neat that you know about the medicinal herbs, I haven’t a clue!

  2. Angelina permalink
    June 2, 2008 6:36 pm

    In spite of not being too pleased with your garden progress you really do have lots of great things growing!

    How did the house cleaning go this weekend? I’m doing it right now. I mean, right after I tear myself away from the stupid computer.

    Right now. Bye.

  3. Lisa permalink
    June 4, 2008 3:35 am

    Lisa-I actually don’t know very much about the utilization of medicinal herbs, but I figure I can learn that. Growing them is the part that takes time and planning.

    Angelina-The house cleaning actually went pretty well. I got lots of help from Maddy and it was looking pretty good on Sunday night.

Leave a Reply

