Skip to content

A Day of Hard Labor

May 30, 2008

That’s what I have planned for tomorrow. Having guests over for dinner always makes a mess. That’s just par for the course. What really did me in (for the downstairs anyway) wasn’t having guests, but being gone or sleeping for the majority of the next three days. That’s where the detritus from a dinner party turned into a chaotic safety and health hazard.

The explanation for what happened upstairs is a little different. It’s just the lack of a deep cleaning and reorganization since last year, so things have gotten very disorganized and shoved in places where they shouldn’t be but make easy work of tidying in the daily course of chores.

The downstairs situation was very apparent in my twisting and turning and gingerly stepping my way from one room to the other. The upstairs became apparent when we tried to find a library book that had been lost for more than a week.

To remedy this situation, I have declared tomorrow: Day of Hard Labor to Clean and Sort the House. In reality, I don’t think it can be accomplished in one day, but we can at least put a dent in it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. @JeanAnnVK permalink
    May 30, 2008 4:18 pm

    Hey Lisa, I don’t remember exactly where you are…but I think Portland, yes? Anyhoo, I am looking to add some local small scale organic gardeners to my produce business. I have a new customer who wants more than I can produce…want to plant a few extra rows and make a bit of cash? Email me at jeanannvk@live.com and let me know…

  2. Angelina permalink
    June 2, 2008 6:35 pm

    I’m doing the same thing…but today. I’m totally fed up with my lack of organization. It never gets better on it’s own.

Leave a Reply

