Skip to content

My Big Fat Greek Pre-Wedding Dinner

May 24, 2008

Thank you Jana and Angelina for taking the time to give some excellent meal suggestions. Jana, your suggestions were very good, but they scream summer to me and unfortunately, we are still having very early spring-like weather. Memorial Day is all about the bbq’s and kicking off summer, but it was only in the upper 50’s yesterday and we are forecasted to have rain off and on through Monday.

Angelina, you are very familiar with what’s available locally and you suggested the potato dish that is kind of Greek inspired, which is a direction that my mind was already heading.

I happen to do Greek pretty well. There aren’t Greek restaurants in every locale, so it’s sometimes a treat to eat Greek and I happen to know that my family also enjoys Greek. (There’s a really good Greek restaurant in Albuquerque that I have eaten at with all the family who is coming, except Adriana). I can also incorporate many local ingredients into a Greek themed dinner.

So, here’s what I’ve got planned!

  • Souvlaki (baked instead of skewered)-I’m going to make one batch of marinade and do several types of meat in their own dish. This will include local pork and goat (a way to introduce people to goat but still giving them the option of other meat and no pressure) from our freezer and boneless free-range chicken from our local natural food store.
  • Greek salad-Salad mix and radishes from our CSA basket
  • Roasted potatoes and asparagus-I’m pretty sure I can find some local potatoes at the natural food store and the asparagus is local.
  • Greens and rice-This recipe typically calls for spinach, but I’m going to substitute collard greens from our CSA basket.
  • Tzatziki-This will have local garlic and homemade yogurt from local raw milk.
  • Galataboureko-This dessert will feature local eggs, but not local milk, because I’m running out of milk. (We only get 1 1/2 gallons per week and can’t increase it because of the tight supply.)

Most of the unlocal ingredients that will go into these dishes are olive oil, lemon juice, rice and phyllo dough. The other good thing is that many of these can be completely or mostly prepared ahead of time and then cooked as they arrive or before we feel like eating. I’m hoping to get a short stroll to our historic downtown in as well, because I’d like to show off our cute downtown and the dishes can cook while we go, if that pans out.

EDIT: For anyone who cares about the details, it has just been confirmed that an aunt, uncle and cousin who were tentatively planning on coming are definitely coming. I will be feeding 12. That’s doable.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    May 25, 2008 11:13 am

    Yummy! Sounds good! Count me in!! You did invite us all, didn’t you?? Oh, my bad!

  2. Anonymous permalink
    May 25, 2008 12:26 pm

    Oh, it sounds delicious! I wish we could be there to share it and the company. Mom

  3. Mysti permalink
    May 25, 2008 2:06 pm

    I’m not to proud to Party Crash you Lisa! ;~) If gas prices didn’t suck, I would go through with that threat.

    Sounds yummy! Take pictures for us to drool over.. *grins*

  4. Anonymous permalink
    May 25, 2008 4:09 pm

    and do not forget to add some crisp Greek wines to the mix

    Nellos has Megapanos Savatiano (white) and Nemea Haggipavlu (red) that will go great with your menu

  5. Anonymous permalink
    May 25, 2008 4:10 pm

    sorry ..meant Quarters Wines not Nellos

Leave a Reply

