Skip to content

Company’s Coming to Dinner

May 23, 2008

My cousin is getting married next week (and the girls will be flower girls). That means family is coming up this way and we don’t get to see them nearly enough. We will be hosting my aunt, uncle, cousin and cousin’s wife for dinner on Sunday.

I actually really like to have people over, but we don’t do it nearly enough because I feel uncomfortable with my hosting skills. The menu always stresses me out. It’s not exactly because I want to impress people. Believe me, I’ve thought a lot about it. I think it’s the feeling that I really enjoy cooking and making people happy and I want to make sure that I prepare a meal that will do both of those things extremely well.

So, I’ve got lots of meal ideas floating around in my head right now, but nothing that I’ve decided on as the perfect one. Feel free to offer suggestions if you are so inclined.

*A, if you have any requests, now would be the time to speak up! Aunt K, I know you are on the road, but if you check in you pipe in too!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    May 23, 2008 4:13 pm

    Lisa I take ribs and I salt and pepper them and then add bbq sauce and put them in a slow slow oven for a couple of hours under a foil cover. Then I let them cool a bit, drain off juices and transfer them to a big ziplock bag and stick them in the fridge until about 1/2 before I want them on the grill. This can be a couple of days. I usually do it the day before in fact. Then throw them on the grill and add sauce. They cook up quickly and the sauce does not burn.

    Corn is in season..there are great deals on corn right now. Husk and clean the corn the day before the party and store in the fridge. Then on party day put them in a huge pan of water and bring the water up to a boil. Normally the corn is ready when it starts to boil but you can double check of course.Turn the heat off under them and keep it in the water until ready to serve.

    I make a coleslaw out of vinegar and oil and tons of garlic and salt and pepper with very thinly sliced coleslaw. I make this two days ahead so that the flavor is really developed.

    Then I make the brownies the day before too and make sure to have ice cream in the fridge for on top.

    SO that means on the day of party I throw my husband behind the grill. Throw water and corn in a pot. Put the slaw on the table and cut a watermelon.

    Then I pour my wine and chat with my family. Eveything is done, the food is perfect fare for family and friends and all the prep was done earlier.

    People always think the hostess does a great job when they don’t have to do anything. lol

    Good luck. (You are probably thinking of French gourmet for the table………..)

    Jana

  2. Lisa permalink
    May 24, 2008 3:56 am

    Thanks for the ideas, Jana. I wasn’t thinking of French gourmet! That’s not really my style. It’s not corn season here yet, that won’t be until July. We actually don’t have a whole lot in season right now. The other ones sound so easy to prepare ahead of time, though.

  3. Angelina permalink
    May 24, 2008 3:09 pm

    You are such an excellent cook that I don’t believe you could make a meal that your family wouldn’t enjoy.

    Why not start with the ingredients that you have on hand and that are in season:

    Goat
    lettuce
    greens
    asparagus
    strawberries
    potatoes
    onion

    to name a few. You probably still have beef in the freezer too. Plus you can get fresh eggs and dairy. So you could make some sort of meat dish and then do a salad with roasted potatoes, asparagus, and feta, and serve a strawberry desert? Or you could do a quiche and salad with roasted asparagus on the side?

  4. Lisa permalink
    May 24, 2008 6:54 pm

    Angelina-I was kind of leaning towards a Greek meal (because you know how I love Greek!) and you kind of got the wheels turning more. The potatoes, asparagus and feta sounds so good. I think I will use my standard Greek roasted potatoes and throw some asparagus in about halfway through. I’m going to post a separate post on the menu.

  5. Lisa permalink
    May 24, 2008 6:54 pm

    Angelina-I was kind of leaning towards a Greek meal (because you know how I love Greek!) and you kind of got the wheels turning more. The potatoes, asparagus and feta sounds so good. I think I will use my standard Greek roasted potatoes and throw some asparagus in about halfway through. I’m going to post a separate post on the menu.

Leave a Reply

