Skip to content

My Baking Soda & Vinegar Hair Regimen

May 8, 2008

These two bottles are the entirety of my hair care products. The one on the right is my baking soda solution (for washing) and the one on the left is my dilution of apple cider vinegar (for conditioning).

I know I’ve posted about it before, but I’ve had a recent conversation with a friend that made me think I should post about it again, with instructions.

I would say that I have normal to borderline oily hair, which used to be full blown oily. I had to wash it every day. About three years ago I heard about going no poo and decided to give it a try. I started by weaning to washing with shampoo every other day, then after several weeks, I switched out my shampoo and conditioner for baking soda and vinegar. When I started I was using dry baking soda, but over the time I found that making a wet baking soda solution was much more convenient. For more than two and a half years I was able to go with washing every other day, then in the past month and a half, something changed and I’ve gone to washing every third day. I don’t know if it was hormones that changed or what, but it’s simply not as oily as it used to be.

Here are the specifics, I put about 3-4 tablespoons of baking soda in my bottle (an old shampoo bottle) and add about 10 drops of essential oils (because I like things that smell good and I also experiment with scent combinations for my soaps) and top it off with water. This bottles holds about 10 or 12 ounces. For the apple cider vinegar, I use a peri bottle. I add two ounces of apple cider vinegar and top off with water.

When I’m showering, I wet my hair as normal, squirt some baking soda solution into it and massage throughout my scalp. Rinse as you would with shampoo, then I squirt some vinegar solution onto my hair and rinse.

The most difficult part was adjusting to it not lathering like shampoo.

I like this method more than shampoo. When we traveled to New Mexico a couple of years ago, I bought organic shampoo and conditioner so that I wouldn’t have to be troubled with taking containers of baking soda and vinegar to refill when my bottles ran out, and I couldn’t wait to get back to my regular routine, because my hair looks and feels better with no poo. Plus it is so much cheaper and there is little packaging waste.

I have used this with hair that is halfway down my back and also with hair that is just below my ears, so it can be used for any hair length.

My love affair with baking soda and vinegar continues…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    May 9, 2008 1:37 pm

    I for one appreciate you posting it again with instructions this time. I am running low on shampoo and I would like to try it, but I didn’t know what amounts to use. I have a problem with alot of shampoos, they make my scalp itch. I am hoping this may help.

  2. Lisa permalink
    May 10, 2008 2:38 am

    Oh, glad you found it useful!

Leave a Reply

