Skip to content

Happy Earth Day!

April 23, 2008

What are some things that you have changed in the past year to help the environment, or alternately, what are some things you would like to change in the coming year?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Mysti permalink
    April 23, 2008 1:40 pm

    Good question Lisa…

    I walk to places close by when I need a few things. I carry a backpack with me so I don’t bring home those nasty plastic “bags”. I carry all cloth bags for my groceries. They stay in the car for every trip. We use natural cleaners, shampoos and soaps.. Um, we are vegan, and I only buy organic or at the least 99.9% organic. There are many more changes that are coming into focus that I hope to put into place soon. I told Bear that I want a clothes line even though I have a fairly new dryer. He thought it was a good idea.There’s more, but I have a darn abscessed tooth and the swelling in my cheek is making it hard to think. LOL

  2. Steve and Paula permalink
    April 23, 2008 8:37 pm

    Are you interested in how to grow everything in a small space?
    Check ou the videos from yesterday on our blog and go to the website as well.
    http://www.pathtofreedom.com
    These people are the hero’s of gardening!
    Paula

  3. Anonymous permalink
    April 23, 2008 10:22 pm

    I have been consistently using cloth bags for shopping, much to the chagrin of Uncle Len. We run out of paper bags for the kitchen trash! I refuse any bags for small items or a few items most of the time, too. And, you are so inspiring!
    Aunt K

  4. Lisa permalink
    April 24, 2008 3:30 am

    Mysti-Those are excellent changes. I, too, have been trying to walk to more errands. The clothesline is a great one. I’ve been enjoying my basement one and can’t wait to put one up outside when our weather improves.

    Paula-I haven’t had a chance to check out the videos, but they sound interesting.

    Aunt K-Yay for you! That eliminates so much waste right there. Thank you so much for thinking I’m inspiring. It really means a lot.

  5. Evelyn permalink
    April 24, 2008 1:01 pm

    Did you delete my comment? I left one before anyone else did. I know it posted because I went back in later to see if anyone else had left comments.

  6. Evelyn permalink
    April 24, 2008 1:01 pm

    Did you delete my comment? I left one before anyone else did. I know it posted because I went back in later to see if anyone else had left comments.

  7. Lisa permalink
    April 24, 2008 3:36 pm

    No, I didn’t delete it. I have it set to email all comments to me and I didn’t receive an email of your comment either. I wonder what happened to it. Did you say something offensive or post my street? Anything racy that would make me delete it? 🙂

  8. Evelyn permalink
    April 24, 2008 4:30 pm

    No I didn’t. This is weird.

  9. Lisa permalink
    April 24, 2008 5:22 pm

    Are you going to repost the gist of it?

  10. Steve and Paula permalink
    April 24, 2008 5:53 pm

    We are going to mark earth day a little late. My husband is going to our organic meat market tonight.
    Maybe he will bring home a bear tonight….

  11. Steve and Paula permalink
    April 24, 2008 5:53 pm

    We are going to mark earth day a little late. My husband is going to our organic meat market tonight.
    Maybe he will bring home a bear tonight….

  12. Lisa permalink
    April 24, 2008 7:04 pm

    Bear wow! A whole one or just a few cuts? I’ve never eaten bear before. I’m getting a whole goat in meat in the next week or so, though.

  13. Steve and Paula permalink
    April 25, 2008 4:22 am

    HEheheh.
    We are hunters! We have two bait stations set up(we have a serious overgrowth of bears that are eating all the moose), so we can get a total of two a piece off of them.
    Steve uses a bow, and I use a rifle, since I do not my bow certification yet.
    I got a six footer last year.
    Bear meat is finer then even corn fed venison! And its organic.
    In case you are curious, bears procreate at a rate of three times what a moose does, and will wipe out a moose population very quickly.
    We are having the same problem with wolves in certain areas.

  14. Evelyn permalink
    April 25, 2008 2:32 pm

    Okay, Lisa, here I go again. I use reusable shopping bags more and more. (I am getting much better at remembering to take them with me.) The plastic bags I do still get I take back to be recycled. I bring my lunches in reusable containers, even small things. I hardly ever use baggies for things anymore. Some things I buy come in plastic containers, but I reuse them as much as I can. I don’t replace appliances unless they absolutely have to be replaced. Mike fixes things for me so we can keep on using them as long as possible.

    Some of our bills I don’t have mailed anymore, I just check them online. I need to get busy and switch more of them to paperless though.

  15. Lisa permalink
    April 26, 2008 5:01 pm

    Wow, Paula, that’s great. My husband has gone elk hunting before with a bow, but he didn’t catch anything because it’s harder than rifle hunting. Are you planning to get a certifcation and is that something that’s required in AK or something you want to do personally? Here in OR one doesn’t need to get a bow cert.

    Mom-Those are great achievements. Keep it up!

  16. Steve and Paula permalink
    April 28, 2008 8:00 pm

    In Alaska, you do not need a certificate to use a rifle, but you do need one to use a bow. Hence the reason I used a rifle for mine last year.
    Also, you have to take a class in order to set up a bait station.
    We have two that are in my husbands name, and in different units.
    Maybe next year I will take the class, so we can register one in my name as well.
    By the way, summer sausage from a bear is the best. Sausage from the store should be embarrased to even exist!

  17. Lisa permalink
    April 29, 2008 4:58 pm

    All of that information is very interesting, Paula. Thanks for sharing!

    Bear sausage sounds delicious.

Leave a Reply

